1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

MMS not sending or receiving

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by allikanbe, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. allikanbe
    Offline

    allikanbe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorktown, VA
    Why can't I send MMS or open MMS that I receive? Not rooted Droid. 2.1 Using Handcent. I used to be able to send/receive MMS, but now when I try to send a pic either from the camera or the gallery, I get the never-ending spinning arrows. When I receive a pic in text, I get 0KB and maybe a few hours later I get 30KB, and then the never-ending "downloading".
    I don't know of any app that I added recently. I get the same results when using the stock Messaging app. The Handcent forum doesn't give any solutions.
    I've shut down the droid, removed battery and still the same results. I've read other posts about this, but I have not found a solution.
    Thanks.
  2. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    You could bring the phone into a Verizon store. If they also can't get it to work, duplicating your situation, they most likely will do a factory reset on the phone, which you can do yourself as well in the settings-privacy section. Sounds like you've done some good searching and are coming up empty handed. You can give Verizon a ring too, see what they say.

    I did find this, from last November shortly after the phone was launched:

    How to fix the Motorola DROID MMS bug | Gear Live It says parenthesis are bad in phone numbers. Don't know if yours are stored that way or not.
  3. allikanbe
    Offline

    allikanbe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorktown, VA
    Thanks. I don't have any () around area codes. I'll try the verizon store.
  4. mikeofmikes83
    Offline

    mikeofmikes83 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've seen this issue a lot too, and infact had it myself. Heres what I did to clear up the issue. I'm sure not all of these steps are warranted, and in fact, I'm not sure which step in particular fixed the issue...but I recommend you do them all, just incase:

    First I went into Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > Handcent:
    There I cleared data, cleared default, force stopped, then uninstalled
    I know you don't have to clear data/default and forcestop if your just going to uninstall; but just bare with me and do it anyway.

    Next, go back to the apps list and hit your menu soft key at the bottom of your phone. Select filters, then select all. This will display system apps as well. Go to the stock Messaging app. Clear data and force stop it.

    Now go to the market and download handcent again.

    Go to your stock messaging app and check that all of your settings and notifications are configured to your liking.

    Now go set up handcent.

    Test it.

    Post results, I'm curious if this will help others. ;)
  5. allikanbe
    Offline

    allikanbe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorktown, VA
    Thanks. Before I read your suggestion, I went to VZW and they did a hard reset. Of course, I lost all apps. I'm reinstalling them now. at least I can send pics.
  6. woot505
    Offline

    woot505 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I ran into this same problem, how I fixed it was I went back to one of my backups that it worked. The problem was when I was changing roms, somehow one of the files to send mms, pics, voice, etc...... messages got deleted or didn't load,anyway it wasn't there anymore. I went to a back up that I knew it worked let it load up, test run by sending some pics and voice messages, then downloaded the rom I wanted to use again and it worked. I checked the files to be sure what was going on, and the missing file was now there. If the base messaging files are not there handcent wont work right, the base files have to be thre in the first place, they are not in handcent.
Search tags for this page
family mobile mms galaxy fix
,
family mobile mms settings
,
family mobile mms settings android
,
family mobile mms settings motorola
,
family mobile not receiving mms
,
mms for family mobile galaxy s4 not working
,
mms messages not being received family mobile
,
mms prkblems motorola droid x
,
mms settings for motorola droid
,

motorola droid mms settings

,
picture messaging not working
,
walmart family mobile apn settings android
,
walmart family mobile mms free
,
walmart family mobile mms not working
,
walmart family mobile mms settings