MILESTONE 2.1 update and root guide

Discussion in 'Motorola Milestone' started by craigcrawford1988, May 8, 2010.

  1. rosbif

    rosbif New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Snipped...

    Excellent, thanks very much for this. Worked great with a French ROM too.
     
  2. Kam5lc

    Kam5lc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also, the link to the download for rsd lite v 3.6.0 seems to be broken on the linked website, any other links available?
     
  3. craigcrawford1988

    craigcrawford1988 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just uploaded a copy to my own site. Refresh and try the link in the post again.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2010
  4. holdfast

    holdfast New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone tried this with a Canadian Telus Milestone?
     
  5. craigcrawford1988

    craigcrawford1988 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe someone has and said they still have 3G access.
     
  6. John2bDroid

    John2bDroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I'm running the Overclock with my TelusMilestone v2.1update1 and it just works very good... no ill effect yet 2 days and no crashes yet Running @ 800Mhz which is very stable and down to 250Mhz...

    Oh and yes 3G works also everything works.. :) I'm happy :)
     
  7. Axecain

    Axecain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Telus?

    Is this for Telus only?
     
  8. John2bDroid

    John2bDroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    All Miestone are ok but not Droid...:)
     
  9. pitchee

    pitchee New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0


    I am having the same problem with that error!!Error: can't find Cache/Recovery/Command and when i clicked on update.zip it says "cannot find update_binary" What did you do to fix that? But I have that "superuser whitelist" in my app list but not sure if my milestone is really rooted... Please help.... Sorry I'm a nood in this stuff.....
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2010
  10. Tekniqs

    Tekniqs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so people here asked whether or not they can go straight into rooting if they're already at 2.1 stock. I was wondering if anyone has the answer to that? because if possible i'd rather not downgrade first and lose all my stuff on my phone.

    oh ya, i have a 90.74 bootloader..should i flash the 90.73 anyway?
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2010
  11. Tekniqs

    Tekniqs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok..so i flashed the recovery sbf and it still says 90.74..is that normal?
     
  12. Tekniqs

    Tekniqs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    and......i'm rooted lol. thanks for the guide =)
     
  13. Tekniqs

    Tekniqs New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh ya to answer my own question..if you're 2.1 you can just go straight to flashing the vulnerable recovery and you're good to go. hope that clears it.
     
  14. stev

    stev New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    guys...i heard the 2.2 update is coming soon....can we update after rooting?
     
  15. craigcrawford1988

    craigcrawford1988 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ignore those errors, they are FINE.
    You can try, but back up first.
    No-one told you to flash the bootloader... You only need to flash the vulnerable recovery which is for 90.78 and LOWER. That means it will work on 90.74, 90.73, 90.72, etc, etc, etc...
    Vulnerable recovery does not flash the bootloader. The bootloader flashes the vulnerable recovery.
    Just flash the stock ROM and you'll be good to go.
     
Search tags for this page

bootloder error a5,69,35,00,2f

,
milestone root update zip file download
,

milestone root update.zip

,
root 2.1 update 1 androot
,
root milestone manual
,
root motorola milestone 2.1
,
root.zip for moto milestone
,
sbf retail milestone 2.1 service
,
update rooted milestone xt170
,

update.zip milestone 2.1