Low space???????

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by dlwhtrose, Oct 27, 2010.

  1. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +33
    Is anyone else having this problem??? Ever since downloading UD 1.0.0 I have been getting the message "Space getting low" and when I click on the notification it takes me to my "manage apps". Now I have not downloaded any new apps, themes or games. As a matter of fact I have had to uninstall some apps to get the notification to go away.

    Just wondering cuz I did not have this issue on UD .8 but I had the exact same apps (well minus some since I had to delete a few).
     
  2. jt.02

    jt.02 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 with this issue!

    Sent from my The Ultimate DROiD 1.0.0 using Tapatalk
     
  3. jawa6969

    jawa6969 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had (well having) the same issue. First ROM I have ever experienced it with. I moved a few of the larger, less used apps to the SD card and the issue seems to have subsided. I am sure if I take on another app or two, it would come back.
     
  4. Lars1

    Lars1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SL,UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you use CacheMate?
     
  5. craigs93

    craigs93 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    Check your "applications" under "settings". When I had this problem, I found that lots of apps had their names scrambled, so they would no longer run and were impossible to move to the SD card. Delete any messed up files and reboot. When you check the Market, they will all re-populate. Just re-download and you are back in business!!
    (At least that's what fixed my similar problem)
    Good luck!!
     
  6. Chipster

    Chipster New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    UD1 is placing the dalvik-cache in the /data partition. Previous versions (and many other ROMs) place it in the /cache partition - with symlinks from /data to /cache.

    On my phone, it means I lose about 40M in /data (though I gain it back in /cache) compared to UD Ex 8.0.

    Use Settings>UD>Device Info>Memory to view what it used.

    Hopefully we can get this feature back in next version.

    Apparently stock ROMs usually place the dalvik-cache in the /data section - like UD1 does. There's more info on this in the Cyanogen wiki.
     
  7. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +33

    I do not use CacheMate, I have been using Cache Cleaner which has been doing great. Like I said this has not happened before and I have not downloaded anything new. In fact I have had to go and uninstall many apps just to get rid of the warning.

    I am glad to know that I am not the only one and that I am not loosing my mind. I hope they fix this with an update. I really am loving UD.