1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Lock home in memory

Discussion in 'Koush' started by drpaul07, Sep 2, 2010.

  1. drpaul07
    Offline

    drpaul07 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    So first off, I'm loving CM 6. The only thing that bugs me a little are the redraws that occur here and there.

    Locking home in memory through CM settings doesn't work that well. And checking the 'system persistent' option in the ADW settings does work, but when its checked, the screen stops rotating even when i slide it open to use the keyboard, which is kind of a problem when i try to reply to texts popups using handcent. I changed the VM heap size to 32M and redraws still happen.

    Any suggestions?
  2. gotta have that funk
    Offline

    gotta have that funk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    try a different launcher...
  3. drpaul07
    Offline

    drpaul07 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    True lol. I always used Launcherpro before i went from stock rooted to CM. Just thought I'd give ADW a try. Its just weird how when ADW doesn't rotate at all when you keep the home in memory. I would lock launcherpro in memory and it still rotates.
  4. superglen99
    Offline

    superglen99 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn,WA
    I have ADW and keep launcher in memory and it rotates. Did you accidently change the settings to keep it from rotating??
  5. drpaul07
    Offline

    drpaul07 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    i've messed with the settings a bunch. Same thing still occurs. I go to ADW settings->System Preferences->then i select 'System persistent'. When selected, the option right below it (Home Orientation) fades so i can't choose it anymore. And then, my homescreen is stuck in portrait mode even when sliding open the keyboard.

    If i'm in an app or menu, my screen will rotate. Its just when i'm at the homescreen, it will not. Weird, and kinda bugs me, cuz i like ADW otherwise.
  6. drpaul07
    Offline

    drpaul07 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm using power strip which i have to set as my default launcher which is probably why i still get redraws when checking 'lock home in memory' through CM settings (cuz all it will do is keep power strip in memory instead of ADW). So I have to check 'System Persistent' through ADW settings, but then this won't allow the home to rotate :(
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2010
  7. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There are actually TWO settings to keep Home in memory:

    Settings -> CyanogenMod settings -> Performance settings -> Lock home in memory

    and

    Settings -> ADWLauncher -> System Preferences -> System persistent

    If you want to enable this, you only need to enable ONE of these options. If you pick the ADW option, it will DISABLE screen rotation. If you pick the CM option, however, I believe this will not disable it.

    Be warned, though - forcing home to stay in memory works MUCH better if you don't allow screen rotation on the home screen.
  8. drpaul07
    Offline

    drpaul07 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    True. I've tried both CM settings and ADW settings, and you're right. The thing is the CM settings won't stop the redraws because all it is keeping in memory is Power Strip.

    And I'd be fine using the ADW settings to lock home in memory, its just its weird when i get a text, and the popup comes up, and i slide open the keyboard to respond, but the popup box stays in portrait mode, so i have to read what i'm writing sideways. It does get rid of the redraws though. Just strange, cuz Launcherpro has an option to lock in memory but it still rotates when on the homescreen.

    I could always get rid of Power Strip and then CM settings will hold ADW in memory but i like Power Strip. Or I could just switch back to Launcher Pro, but there are some things about ADW i like that aren't in Launcher Pro. Haha...oh the choices..

    Anyway, I appreciate the help guys. Thanks.
  9. drpaul07
    Offline

    drpaul07 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    Awww i just figured out how to fix my issue. So after messing with a bunch of settings in CM settings and ADW settings, what I SHOULD HAVE been doing was looking at the Handcent settings. There is an 'auto rotate' option in there that i checked and now everything works like it should. Never had it checked before so i didn't think to look there.

    Anyway, problem solved. Yay!! Sorry for all the ruckus!
  10. zerosouls
    Offline

    zerosouls Soulless Droid Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Menzoberranzan
    I tried really hard to appreciate ADW launcher, it lasted a few weeks, now I'm gladly back to launcherpro again :D
  11. SWSovereign
    Offline

    SWSovereign New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    drpaul07-

    I'm using LauncherPro with PowerStrip. I use to have the same redraw problems with PowerStrip as the default home. Now I have LauncherPro set as the default home and used CyanogenMod Settings . . . Input Settings . . . Long-press home settings . . . Select custom application to make the long press launch PowerStrip instead of recent apps. Now LauncherPro stays in memory and I don't have any screen redraw issues. If I want to access recent apps, I can use that functionality within PowerStrip.

    I bet the same setup would work for you with ADW.

    -Scott
  12. seang
    Offline

    seang New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  13. nlinecomputers
    Offline

    nlinecomputers New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I tried the local.prop hack on my droid stock running LauncherPro. Seems to have solved my redraw problems. Been running this about 24 hours with no redraw. Usually if I ran the camera or had a heavy browser use I was certian to have a long redraw. So far so good.
  14. Smeech
    Offline

    Smeech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont, Ca
    Agreed. And to be specific:

    Works like an absolute charm! I've used it on LiMod and CM6.
  15. drpaul07
    Offline

    drpaul07 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    Awesome! Appreciate the info guys!
  16. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just by setting the launcher to portrait only (not enabling persistent, just the keep in mem in CM6 settings) i do not get redraws. using the same settings but with LP, i still get redraws only when i open something with keyboard closed, and then exit it with the keyboard open.
  17. moot
    Offline

    moot New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm going to give this a try as well. Will report back soon.
  18. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    those may help, but they didn't fix the keyboard issue for me. i don't think anything will, really. adw just does not have that problem for me. i can start any app with kb closed, then open the keyboard and go back home, and there is no redraw at all. i can also put the phone into my multimedia dock, and when i take it out, there is no redraw with adw, but there is with LP.
  19. pmr5019
    Offline

    pmr5019 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just adding my 2 cents in on the local.prop hack...

    It is a life saver. It has been almost 2 full days of use since I entered it into the terminal and hit enter and I have had a half of a redraw with launchepro. I was testing it with about four tabs open in dolphin HD, running a live wallpaper with 7 screens and a ton of widgets. It was purely a stress test to see what it could handle. It took it like a champ and like I said I have had 1/2 of a redraw, my widgets reloaded but it took a total of about 3 seconds...it was a beautiful thing. Thank you so much for the instructions and the post for that.
Search tags for this page
android keep home in memory
,
android keep home screen in memory
,
android lock launcher in memory
,
disable lock home in memory
,
home launcher is locked in memory
,
home screen memory
,
how to disable lock home in memory
,
how to undo lock home to memory android
,
keep home in memory android
,
keep home on memory
,

lock home in memory

,
lock home in memroy
,
lock home screen in memory
,
lock launcher in memory
,
my home launcher wont stay locked in memory