Link ring and notification volume in ICS?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by thunder550, Jul 25, 2012.

  1. thunder550
    Offline

    thunder550 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    My notification and ring volumes are not linked, which is fairly annoying at work when I use the side buttons to decrease ringer volume then get a text message that can be heard from the other side of the office. I've done some poking around and haven't seen a way to link the two together. Am I missing something or is this a key bit of functionality that is missing in ICS?
  2. Sydman
    Online

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,428
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Function was taken out with ICS, we don't know why.
  3. Penny677
    Offline

    Penny677 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I hate this feature too! I hope there will be a fix in the near future
  4. thunder550
    Offline

    thunder550 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    So it's not just me then, good :) In the meantime, is there a way to reassign the side volume buttons to control notification volume rather than ring volume?
  5. Sydman
    Online

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,428
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Not that we have found yet, still have to go in manually and adjust the notification volume.
  6. mattman5000
    Offline

    mattman5000 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Yes. That is a very annoying "feature".

    I have a smart action enabled to reduce both ringtone and notification volumes when I arrive at the office.
  7. 94lt1
    Online

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,371
    Likes Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    There's not a way that I know of either... :mad:
  8. azle
    Offline

    azle New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Azle Texas
    Audio control app works great!
    Azle
  9. Penny677
    Offline

    Penny677 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I realize that there are some apps out there that you can get for volume control but that's just ridiculous IMO. It's the volume for crying out loud. The button on the side should turn it down or up. An app shouldn't be necessary for that!
  10. aarong03
    Offline

    aarong03 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    I had same issue after ICS update. I use cVolume and it works fine. You go into settings in the app and notification volume and check it. This will allow you set the volume for notifications different from your ringtones.
  11. Dingbat
    Offline

    Dingbat Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    How'd you do that? I can't find "notification volume" in Smart Actions. Thanks!
  12. mattman5000
    Offline

    mattman5000 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Yeah, sorry. I was wrong when I said that. I looked at it later and realized that Smart Actions doesn't have a setting for notification volume. Since then, I have switched to Llama, which is a third party app similar to Smart Actions. Llama is able to control both ringer and notification volume.
  13. aarong03
    Offline

    aarong03 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    Get cvolume from the market. Under settings you need to check notification volume not(Use incoming call volume for notifications). Works great.
  14. thunder550
    Offline

    thunder550 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    cVolume completely disabled my notification sounds. Trying to figure out how to fix- uninstalled and still no sounds or vibrations

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  15. aarong03
    Offline

    aarong03 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    I'm not sure why your notifications were disabled. I've used cVolume since my Original Droid and never had a problem. Double Check to make sure all your phone settings are not on silent. If you had not already.
  16. thunder550
    Offline

    thunder550 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Evergreen, CO
    Figured it out. I use Light Flow for my notifications, had to stop and restart accessibility and got everything back.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  17. aarong03
    Offline

    aarong03 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    Good, glad it worked out for ya!:icon_ banana:
  18. gibson99
    Offline

    gibson99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, we have a problem, TX, USA
    Nice! I got llama today and so far i like it. Looks a lot more powerful than smart actions (henceforth known as "dumb inactions"), but not as rich as tasker. But i don't need all the power tasker has, so this fits the bill nicely. I particularly like the author's sense of humor. I'm glad i dont use winamp on android... considering winamp's old slogan, things could get ugly!

    Thanks for the suggestion!
  19. trinydex
    Offline

    trinydex New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have this problem with my razr hd maxx. i even tried to download cvolume but the only cvolume on Play right now is cvolume next. it has an option for linking the notification and ringtone volumes but you can't enable/disable it. it's stuck. is there another app besides cvolume that is known to work?
Search tags for this page
android link ringer and notification volume
,
android use ringer volume for notifications
,
connect ring and notification
,

droid razr notification volume

,
droid razr text message volume
,
how to connect my notification volume with my ringer volume
,
how to link notifications volume woth call volume
,
ics linked volume
,

link notification and ringer volume ics

,
link volumes ics
,
razr notification and ringtone volumes
,
ring volume message volume different android
,
same volume for notifications a ringtone
,
samsung galaxy s3 notification sound too loud
,
use ringer volume for notifications