Liberty Droid X wants to update

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by supermatt9, Feb 27, 2012.

  1. supermatt9
    Offline

    supermatt9 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm on v3 of liberty and just today my phone started trying to update to the newest update from Motorola. Is there a way to block this and to stop my phone from trying to update?

    Thanks!
  2. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep. Use titanium backup pro or another app that allows you to freeze apps. Then freeze the updater 2.3.3. Then you can boot into recovery and wipe the cache partition and you'll be safe.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  3. maximumpower
    Offline

    maximumpower New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Really? It is possible to push an update over Liberty? I thought Liberty disabled that automatically?

    How did you know it was trying to update?

    Thanks
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2012
  4. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    . If your on a custom rom the update would likely fail if you tried to install it or if it tried to install on it's own. You normally get a message on your screen telling you an update is available and you get about 20 seconds to press the download later button. Just to be safe freeze the updater and you won't have to worry.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  5. maximumpower
    Offline

    maximumpower New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I froze the updater, just in case.

    Thanks!
  6. MrAreCool
    Offline

    MrAreCool New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western NY
    Any idea what would happen if the update was performed? I haven't tried it to see if it would actually be successful or not...
  7. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It would most likely be a big fail but why try.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  8. Growler48
    Offline

    Growler48 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0




    Where is the updater located?
  9. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you have titanium backup (PRO)
    just open it up and press the backup/restore tab then scroll down till you find the updater 2.3.3. It's in alphabetical order and since it's a system app it will be in red. When you find it just press it and you'll get the option to freeze.
    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  10. Growler48
    Offline

    Growler48 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got it. Thanks!
  11. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your welcome

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
Search tags for this page

liberty rom update droid x

,

liberty rom v3 for droid x