Launcher Pro - How to remove Launcher2 from the system?

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by EnJoY, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. EnJoY
    Offline

    EnJoY New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Hey guys,

    I'm using Launcher Pro and one of the recommendations people give when using alternative launchers to improve performance is to uninstall any other launchers. I tried deleting the Launcher2 apk in Astro as others have suggested, but it doesn't seem to want to delete.

    Is there a set of scripts I can run to remove Launcher2 from Sapphire 1.0?

    Thanks for the help guys.
  2. YankInDaSouth
    Offline

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    No sure about a script, but I purchase Root Explorer from the market - very easy to remove apps.
  3. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    su
    sysrw
    rm /system/app/Launcher2.apk
    sysro
  4. carlz28
    Offline

    carlz28 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can't do it from Astro. It won't recognize root access. Do you have Root Explorer? That would work.

    However, I wouldn't recommend uninstalling the default launcher. Mainly because if there is ever a a problem with Launcher Pro and somehow its gets uninstalled, you'll be up the creek without a paddle.
    Removing other launchers may help, but the stock launcher has never caused any ill-effects on performance. If it's not being used, it's not sitting in memory. The only benefit of deleting the stock launcher would be to save room in /system/app folder.

    Somone else please correct me if I'm wrong.
  5. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Whether or not you want to, I believe you can do it thru dev tools, terminal with rmapk ...
  6. EnJoY
    Offline

    EnJoY New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Thanks. :)

    According to info from Chevyno1, even when the stock launcher isn't being used, it still uses some memory.
  7. carlz28
    Offline

    carlz28 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    According to info from Chevyno1, even when the stock launcher isn't being used, it still uses some memory.[/QUOTE]
    I won't debate that because I really don't know, but I highly doubt it would affect performance on a notcieable level.
    But it's your call!
  8. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    I would think the threat of "accidentally" deleting LP would be pretty much nil.
  9. EnJoY
    Offline

    EnJoY New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I deleted it, every bit of memory or performance helps.

    Worse case LP ever screws up beyond repair I'll happily just wipe and reflash.
  10. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i agree with you as well. not sure what chevy said exactly, but launcher2 definitely does not seem to running anywhere that i can tell. unless you just switched between the two.
  11. tcyree2202
    Offline

    tcyree2202 New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was also interested in deleting the stock launcher2, but I have one more question. Is it necessary to move LauncherPro to /system/app, or will it still function properly if left in /data/app? Thanks in advance for the help.
  12. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can leave Launcher Pro in /data/app and delete launcher2 in /system/app and LP will work fine. I moved Launcher Pro to /system/app to save user application storage space for other programs. But when an update comes along in the market for LP I have to move it again to /system/app after the update install and delete the old one or I end up with two LP apk's the one in /data/app taking precedence.
  13. imagecolour
    Offline

    imagecolour New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    take a backup with Titanium backup, and remove the app from titanium backup.next reset the ROM to factory setting and restore with titanium backup. I did the same for Launcher pro and it is worked wonders dancedroid
Search tags for this page
/system/launcher2/apk
,

android launcher2 remove

,
como desinstalar launcher pro android
,

delete stock launcher2

,
how to pull launcher2.apk
,
how to uninstall default launcher on rooting
,
is it ok tu uninstall launcher2.apk
,
launcher2.apk delete
,

remove launcher2

,
remove launcher2 defaut
,

remove launcher2.apk

,
system launcher2 pro