Is anyone else having trouble adjusting to the new keyboard?

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by Fullstop, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. Fullstop

    Fullstop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm coming from a rooted MotoDroid running Liquid GB, and this phone is miles ahead except the keyboard is killing me. I really miss the auto correct for I, I've, and the like, but the worst is I keep hitting the . when I am going for the spacebar. I've calibrated multiple times, but I always read, and type in horizontal and it seems like that woild have some effect on calibration overall due to button size and spacing from one o another.

    Are there any suggestions, settings or anything to maybe help with the auto correct, and the spacebar problem? I don't like using the suggestion boxes and such, it really slows me down due to the aggrivation I guess.

    Any help would be awesome, and will make you all royalty.

    Thanks in advance.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  2. techguru

    techguru Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been using Swype on my DINC and it was one of the first things I installed on my TBolt. I find the standard Android keyboard frustrating. I do like on the standard keyboard how they put the directional navigation buttons at the bottom since it doesn't have a trackball or D-pad. It takes an extra maneuver to bring up a directional pad on Swype.

    The problem I am having is that the Tbolt is so large, that it is uncomfortable to Swype with one thumb in Landscape mode, so I wind up tapping instead of swyping, or even changing keyboards. Looking forward to a simple Root for the Tbolt if only so I can install Keyboard manager that automatically switches keyboards based on orientation (root only).

    Alan
     
  3. mitchb2

    mitchb2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having a ton of trouble with Swype. Even when I go slow and I'm very careful, it produces bogus words. I absolutely cannot get it to recognize "still" (for example...there are many) no matter how many times I try. I end up pecking instead, which is very slow.
     
  4. Blackhawk55

    Blackhawk55 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've tried forcing myself to like Swype due to its rave reviews by many. However, I just can't like it. I took advantage of the Swiftkey 30 day trial a while ago. After using it for a while, I would switch back to Swype occasionally to retest myself on which I liked better. Swiftkey's prediction ability keeps me coming back to it. I am always shocked at the number of sentences I enter where all I do is accept the next word. It truly thinks faster than I do! My TB is on the FedEx truck as we speak so I can't comment on the stock keyboard just yet.
     
  5. Donsell

    Donsell Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I love the keyboard in Liquid's GB too. I think you can get the Gingerbread Keyboard from the Market.
     
  6. Batwaffel

    Batwaffel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, maybe I'm just enjoying a new phone that actually works (came from a Samsung Omnia) but I find the keyboard quite nice. I've never been a fan of auto-complete because, for some reason, it really really hates me, so not sure that I could like swype.

    This keyboard in general has been working amazingly well for me. I might try a new one eventually, but for now, it works.
     
  7. want a droid

    want a droid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    My only complaint is when you select a suggested word, the phone doesn't automatically insert a space. I find myself typing sentences with no spaces sometimes.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  8. Z06_Mir

    Z06_Mir Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a hard time typing minute sometimes. Maybe I will give swype one shot on this one despite the fact I hated it on my d1. We'll see. I miss the physical keyboard on my d1 a little, the thunderbolt is only my second phone that had no qwerty since my Motorola razor (had a bb storm, hated it more than any phone) so it's a slight adjusting process. I do wish it would auto correct so I didn't have to put in the ' for I've and it's.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  9. Kack

    Kack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Riverside, CA SO-CAL
    Ratings:
    +0
    this is the only drawback i find no auto spacing. but i have big hands and big thumbs i was nervous to ditch the phys kb but i am getting used to it and i actually started using speech to text which works amazing. im loving everything so far and cant wait for some roms.............
     
  10. want a droid

    want a droid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haha I also started using speech to text

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
     
  11. The Merg

    The Merg New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I posted about this earlier, but is anyone else having an issue with the keyboard not taking the button presses?

    When I went to try out the TB, I had multiple issues using the keyboard. The biggest was that it didn't seem to accept my keypresses in that if I typed out "test", I would end up with "tst". It was almost as if I hit two keys to quickly back to back, the first keypress would not register. I had to hit the keys quite slowly and methodically for it to work for me.

    - Merg
     
  12. subguy812

    subguy812 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My only issue as well..this HTC keyboard I thought used to have an option for place a space. Because I had it installed on my Droid for the longest time. I also like the Gingerbread keyboard
     
  13. mthorn79

    mthorn79 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    Ratings:
    +3
    I myself have tried & tried to love Swype but with a bigger screen it definitely seems like it takes more time to make sure its getting the word I want before I move onto the next one. The time it takes to make sure its correct I would've already had the next word typed. Then the bugs with no auto space & sometimes it just won't swype words at all. Left it loaded but have it switched off for now.
     
  14. BigMcGuire

    BigMcGuire Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm using Smart Keyboard Pro. Loving it. Tried the Stock HTC keyboard for awhile, just couldn't type as well on it. Didn't like the lack of spacing after punctuation and what not.
     
  15. mkjellgren

    mkjellgren Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only problems I gave with the tb keyboard is the lack if auto apace after selecting a word from the options that pop up and the arrows on the bottom throw me off a little bit. I'm getting used to it but it just feels a little strange typing one row higher on the screen than I had to with my d1 to account for the arrows.

    Sent from my ADR6400L
     
Search tags for this page
android keypad does not have yhe microphone
,
anyone else hate the keyboard on htc one m8
,
having trouble with spaces between words on keyboard
,

htc thunderbolt keyboard slow

,

htc thunderbolt slow keyboard

,

htc thunderbolt touch sensitive keyboard

,
i'm having a hard time adjusting to the droid
,
lg804 phone, anyone having trouble typing on the keyboard? a
,
on motorola m swype doesnt leave space between
,
s4 keyboard too sensitive