1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Inconsistent functionality of power / sleep button

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by mapexvenus, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. mapexvenus
    Offline

    mapexvenus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    The power / sleep button on my Droid works inconsistently. When pressed it sometimes puts the phone into sleep mode but on a few occasions it locks the screen. Anyone else facing the same problem?
  2. y6y6y6
    Offline

    y6y6y6 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep. The power/sleep button was a poor design decision in my opinion. But even putting that aside it seems to operate inconsistently.
  3. mjs31
    Offline

    mjs31 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Texas
    Mine always locks the screen unless I jump immediately back out of it. I thought the screen lock was part of the Droid similar to the Iphone....
  4. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,016
    Likes Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    The button always puts the phone on lock when depressed.

    No idea where or how you get it into "sleep" mode.

    The button serves the purpose of locking and waking the phone and thats it.
  5. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    I'm not having any problems with mine, and this is my third Droid. Maybe there is a hardware problem with your power button or something. Maybe I just got lucky.
  6. Boris Badenov
    Offline

    Boris Badenov New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In your blind spot
    Same here...
    ...inconsistent it is, but not really a problem for me. :)
  7. Trever1t
    Offline

    Trever1t New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley

    "sleep mode" = locked with no display.

    I also had this happen today when I pushed the button and I got a lock screen instead of no display but only 2 times did that happen.
  8. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,016
    Likes Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    got it...I did not understand what the OP was saying.
Search tags for this page

android inconsistent power button

,

motorola x2 power button no longer puts phone to standby

,

sleep/awake button not working on razr