ICS on the Thunderbolt?

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by ctdroid1, Jan 19, 2012.

  1. ctdroid1
    Offline

    ctdroid1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know if this will ever happen?
  2. jkaod
    Offline

    jkaod Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +55
    Short answer. For a stock phone, no. No one really knows right now.
  3. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    Maybe. Probably.

    sent from my bolt
  4. drew
    Offline

    drew Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think someone will port CM9 to it at least. It really sucks because I have CM9 on my HP Touchpad. Sad state of affairs when a "hacked" tablet gets it before a former "flagship" 4G phone.
  5. 4shlr
    Offline

    4shlr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    Ratings:
    +1
    How did you get this on your touchpad? I have one & have been tempted to do it. Thanks

    Sent from my 'Bolt
  6. drew
    Offline

    drew Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    it's pretty bulletproof, but you'll want to read up on all the software. You can turn your TP into dual boot, but i'll bet once you get Android loaded, you'll never go back to WebOS. You'll need MOBOOT (basically a new bootloader), ACMEInstaller2, CWM (for flashing things) and CM9. Check out the rootzwiki and it will get you on the right track. Be warned: CM9 is very alpha - netflix, video and camera do not work yet.


    [Release][Alpha0] CyanogenMod 9 Touchpad - RootzWiki
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1362983

    The second link is a post to installing CM7.

    It looks like there are some ICS ROMs for our Thunderbolt, but looks like having trouble with the radio. Exciting, as ICS is awesome on the tablet.
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2012
  7. 4shlr
    Offline

    4shlr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    Ratings:
    +1
    Great links...thanks!

    Now that I've done a root with my old OG Droid I'm feeling more brave to try some more things...I'd like to root my Bolt so I can use the free wifi hotspot...and now I think I'll try to put CM7 on my touchpad...maybe lol



  8. Icyhot1966
    Offline

    Icyhot1966 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    I rooted my Bolt 2 days ago. It was super easy and Open Garden tether app works fantastic. I still can't figure out how to root my OG Droid though lol
  9. 4shlr
    Offline

    4shlr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've seen a couple YouTube videos of the Bolt root using revolutionary, is that what you used to root?? Is your root easy to unroot just in case?

    I saw the open garden app, here's another queation: is that app usb or wireless? Can't tell from the description... Sorry for all the questions lol




    Sent from my 'Bolt
  10. Icyhot1966
    Offline

    Icyhot1966 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    I used the Revolution method yes. Also, don't know about uprooting as I'm not planning on doing that lol. Open Garden is wireless, so I use it for my iPad. Do you have a link for rooting the Droid! Lol
  11. drew
    Offline

    drew Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used this a LONG LONG time ago..

    root my droid « Soup or Root's Official Blog!!
  12. 4shlr
    Offline

    4shlr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    Ratings:
    +1
    My only worry about rooting is if something happens to it & I need to send it back...nothing has gone wrong with it but my luck...lol

    here is what I used to root OG Droid, worked really well, all the downloads you need are in the description:

    How to root Moto Droid 1 on ANY version (Including 2.2.2) - YouTube
    Good Luck!



  13. 4shlr
    Offline

    4shlr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did your data get wiped in the process? Lose contacts, apps, pics??


  14. sonicanatidae
    Offline

    sonicanatidae Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apparently, HTC has sent at least 1 person a positive note RE: ICS for T-Bolt.

    Clickie: Ics confirmed for thunderbolt! - Android Forums at AndroidCentral.com

    This is the internet tho, so take it with a grain of salt, but the post shows "an early 2012" release.

    Personally, I'm waiting for CM9. The Stock ICS ROM will be loaded with bloat and the Sense interface.
    Both of those make OTA's a dead end for me.

    As with anything, YMMV.
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2012
  15. 4shlr
    Offline

    4shlr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did you have the latest VZW OTA update on your Bolt when you rooted? I've been trying to use the revolutionary method but doesn't seem to be working. My software is 2.3.4 with 2....something....9

    From what I've found it looks like the best method is to download the older version & then root. Is this what you did??




    Sent from my 'Bolt
Search tags for this page

cyanogenmod thunderbolt ics