I want to just ban the word "KY" from the autocorrect...

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Jscullin, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. Jscullin

    Jscullin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Every ****ing time. Every god-damn, ****ing time I want to spell "my" the keyboard reads it as a "K" and because I want to type fast and it can't keep up and auto corrects to "KY".

    :mad:
     
  2. RinTinTigger

    RinTinTigger Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,902
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hey,

    one of the great advantages of beeing a human, is to
    discuss problems, even anoying problems, in a good manner,
    and with fine language.

    Please stick to that, or your thread will be removed.

    So now, anything we can assist you?

    Tigger
     
  3. lumpysherman

    lumpysherman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just hope you're not typing my jelly someday. Wow would that turn your face red.
     
  4. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've read of problems like this and will explain how to solve them.

    Head out to your local doctor's office and make an appointment. At said appt time, express to your doctor that you are having some serious anger issues that are beginning to spill over on your favorite Droid forum. Request a prescription for an anti-anxiety medication, something along the lines of xanax or valium. Take the suggested dosage, waiting approximately 20-30 minutes, and before you know it, you will then be able to offer a clean and friendly post to this forum! Hope this helps.
     
    #4 JhankG, Jan 13, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2010
  5. allikanbe

    allikanbe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Yorktown, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    It sounds like operator error. You just said that it is because you want to type fast (that doesn't mean accurately) and it can't keep up. It sounds like "it" is typing what your fast finger hit.
     
  6. Jscullin

    Jscullin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only way this is going to be solved is for the keyboard to not be laggy and support multitouch.

    It's not just this word. There have been other problem words that just get auto corrected for no reason or because key hits don't register because of the above problems. It's the only gripe I have with the phone. And it's seemingly so easy to correct on the software side.

    Sorry for the language. It's happened quite a few times and was caught but this time it actually got sent. Not to mention the period.button.is too.wide.compared.to.the.spacebar issue I come across a lot.
     
  7. dro

    dro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried Swype or any other keyboards aside from the stock one?
     
  8. Jscullin

    Jscullin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have Better Keyboard but haven't seen an improvement. I did send the dev an email asking if making the spacebar bigger is a possibility.

    Swype looks good but isn't how I want to input text on the device.
     
  9. roflcopters

    roflcopters Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just typed out a text pretty darn fast and had no issues like you're describing. Also, isn't it predictive text? Meaning it selects what you use most frequently? If that's the case, well...talk about KY much?
     
  10. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,034
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,629
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    when i used the stock android keyboard I was pretty quick and accurate with it. you already know it doesn't have multitouch so lift up one of your fingers or whatever you type with before you hit the next key.

    gonna say your frustration is definitely user error.
     
  11. rastataoist

    rastataoist New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, I was just about to start a thread wondering if I can erase "my" from the autocorrect dictionary, since I always want to type KY.

    To each his own, I guess.
     
  12. udroid

    udroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Springfield, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there any way that, instead of being sarcastic, someone could address the actual problem of removing words from the dictionary?

    There are a few words I would like to remove, and my understanding is that the Droid offers this function, but I can't figure it out. All I've found is the option to add words, not get rid of them...

    Jscullin, I feel your pain. Not a day goes by that I don't swear at my Droid for something...luckily, I thank it for more things than I swear at it for... :)
     
Search tags for this page
android remove word from autocorrect
,
android remove words from autocorrect
,
ban words in android
,

delete autocorrect words android

,
editing mu dictionary on ky htc
,

how to delete a word from autocorrect

,

how to delete words from android autocorrect

,
how to delete words from autocorrect
,

how to delete words from autocorrect android

,

how to remove words from autocorrect android