How to delete or edit contacts?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Turbo' started by T1125P, Nov 13, 2014.

  1. T1125P

    T1125P Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Astoria, NY
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi all, just got my new DROID Turbo after upgrading from my DROID RAZR. I can't figure out how to delete or edit your contacts. I have tried but there is no option. Every time I click on a contact it goes to call them!. I deleted the cache even disabled the clould sync, then I had no contacts, so I just imported my contacts from storage but still I cannot edit or delete, how do you do this? On the RAZR it was so easy just hold the contact then the option comes up to edit, delete etc. I'm lost with this one. :/
     
  2. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    There are at least two ways to do what you're trying to do.

    You can get to a particular contact by either finding a recent call to that contact in the call history;
    [​IMG]
    ...or by searching from the dialer;
    [​IMG]

    From either way above, once you find the contact you're looking for you can either tap on the picture of the contact (or large letter identifier), on the left in either method above, or on the clock icon on the right in the call history.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Once you're in the next screen, to edit tap on the little person icon on the right.
    [​IMG]

    Finally tap on the the vertically oriented three dots (menu), at the top right,
    [​IMG]

    and your edit choices appear...
    [​IMG]

    ...including edit, share, delete, set ringtone, all calls to voicemail, and place on home screen (as a quick one touch widget to call).

    Once you choose edit, you'd find the entire contact record...
    [​IMG]
     
    #2 FoxKat, Nov 13, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2014
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. lloydstrans

    lloydstrans Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    12,153
    Likes Received:
    1,981
    Trophy Points:
    678
    Ratings:
    +2,020
    Took me about 10 calls/ quickly end to figure that one out. FoxKat where where you a week ago.

    We must...We must...increase our boost
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. CaptainSS

    CaptainSS Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains, In the Woods
    Ratings:
    +497
    "FIAFA" :D

    (FoxIsAForumAsset)
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. T1125P

    T1125P Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Astoria, NY
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thank you so much FoxKat that worked. I sure wish there was an easier way like the RAZR just tap on your all contacts then delete instead it calls the contact when you tap on them on this phone :D
     
  6. 24c

    24c Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +68
    Current Phone Model:
    DROID TURBO
    If I tap on a contact, not on the picture/icon, but on the right side of the screen, I get a screen with the 3 "dots" in the upper right.
    Tapping on them gives me the option to edit, share, delete, set ring tone, all calls to voice mail, place on home screen.

    Seems where you tap on the contact determines the out come.
     
  7. kmf1

    kmf1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +130
    The "three dot" menu is always what I've clicked on to edit a contact.
     
  8. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Could you post pics of that for me? I have confirmed (thank you), that you can simply tap on the large icon pic or letter at the top rather than the small person icon to the right and it takes you to the same menu screen.

    But in earlier screens if I tap anywhere but the icon or clock (in call history), it dials the contact.

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  9. CaptainSS

    CaptainSS Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains, In the Woods
    Ratings:
    +497
    Mine as well, If I tap anywhere other than in the Picture frame it calls them. But tapping the pic then the mini-head, three dots is fairly painless.
    I don't edit a contact that much lately, it's to add the area code if missing.
     
  10. 24c

    24c Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +68
    Current Phone Model:
    DROID TURBO
    @FoxCat - I don't do it in Call History - I do it in People - All Contacts - tap within contact's "lines" on right of screen.
    By the time I figure out how to take/post a screen shot, we'll all be dead.

    ETA - I just tried it in Call History - see what you mean - not the place to edit contacts me thinks.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. CaptainSS

    CaptainSS Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains, In the Woods
    Ratings:
    +497
    " I Wish I could Edit People" ......:)
     
  12. 24c

    24c Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +68
    Current Phone Model:
    DROID TURBO
    AMEN Brother...AMEN!
     
Search tags for this page

droid turbo delete contact

,

droid turbo edit contacts

,
droid turbo how to delete contacts
,

edit contacts droid turbo

,
how do i delete contacts from my droid turbo
,
how to delete contacts from droid turbo
,
how to delete contacts on droid razr
,

how to delete contacts on droid turbo

,
how to edit contact on droid turbo
,

how to edit contacts on droid turbo