Help with SBF and/or Update.zip

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by jonathon1289, Aug 18, 2011.

  1. jonathon1289
    Offline

    jonathon1289 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Middle TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I am pretty experienced with SBF'ing and such, but I have an issue here that so far I have been unable to fix. I have a couple of things I am going to try still, but wanted to get this going for other ideas.

    I bought a Droid X stuck at the bootloader screen. It says 30.04 ready to program so I thought a simple SBF would fix it. I have tried the .340 SBF using two different Windows 7 machines and RSDLite 4.9 with the same result. Error is 'Flash Failed ERROR: Phone[0000]: Error switching phone to BP Pass through mode"

    The RSD log is:
    "08:45:43, August 18, 2011
    Line: 527
    ERROR: AP Die ID: 22000201909b3a0a0000d8ff0100
    08:45:43, August 18, 2011
    Line: 534
    ERROR: BP Die ID: 0000000000000000b55432890485
    08:45:43, August 18, 2011
    Line: 541
    ERROR: AP Public ID: 6290a0df07eb32bbc306b1b51e5b150e239dab2c
    08:45:43, August 18, 2011
    Line: 548
    ERROR: BP Public ID: 040000000500000002000000ffff00002d003289
    08:53:19, August 18, 2011
    Line: 1836
    ERROR: Phone[0000]: Error switching phone to BP Pass through mode
    File: D:\GitProjects2\hdt_windows_flash\flash\code\flashdll\FlashOp.cpp
    Device ID: 0
    08:53:29, August 18, 2011
    Line: 719
    ERROR: Phone[0000]: The "Motorola_Flash" Interface could not be found.
    The super-file is not secure and for re-flash;
    the phone needs a super-file that is not secure and for reflash.
    File: D:\GitProjects2\hdt_windows_flash\flash\code\flashdll\MIFlash.cpp
    Device ID: 0
    08:53:30, August 18, 2011
    Line: 597
    ERROR: Flash failure: Phone[0000]: Error switching phone to BP Pass through mode (Error Code: be),
    Detailed Error Details: Direction of the Error=No Direction, Command Value=0, Code Group Number=257
    File: D:\GitProjects2\hdt_windows_flash\flash\code\flashdll\FlashHdlr.cpp
    Device ID: 0"


    I have booted into stock recovery and wiped data/cache. I get the whole error about cannot load cache/command/log which I know usually can be ignored. I have tried to flash a couple of different signed update.zip files (.340 and .596) and both fail. It just says error in update.zip after getting about halfway through the install process.

    Things still to try:
    Windows XP machine.
    Older version of RSD (4.7)
    Linux boot cd SBF


    ANy other ideas or suggestions? I will keep this updated as I find anything. I have done quite a bit of searching here and Google but nothing that has worked for me so far. Thanks.
     
  2. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    Try the Linux boot CD. The link is in my signature below

    CM74DX
     
  3. jonathon1289
    Offline

    jonathon1289 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Middle TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I finally got a change to try the LInux boot cd....The SBF said it worked, but when I rebooted the phone I went into stock recovery and wiped data/cache then rebooted right back to the bootloader. I am going to try again, but I may be looking at a phone that has hardware issues and I just have to cut my losses.
     
  4. Leung
    Offline

    Leung Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i had a problem just a few hours ago where i got stuck in the bootloader.

    I had just SBF'd it back to froyo and during the reboot that's where it got stuck.

    what i did was yanked the battery, waited about 30 seconds, pressed and held the home key and the power key. that will bring up the little android dood with the exclaimation sign above him. press the search key and using the volume keys, scroll down to "wipe/factory reset". after the reset, click on reboot.

    it should put you back to stock and get you out of the boot loop.
     
  5. Kasey Krehbiel
    Offline

    Kasey Krehbiel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Culpeper, VA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Was the phone plugged into the computer when you rebooted? If you can get to stock recovery, it shouldn't return you to the bootloader unless you reboot the phone while it's plugged into the computer.
     
  6. jonathon1289
    Offline

    jonathon1289 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Middle TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, I had it unplugged. I just relaunched the cd and tried to SBF again. It is hung at 'waiting for phone." I will keep playing with it off and on (am at work).


    EDIT: Unplugged and plugged the phone back in and it finally picked up. SBF is running again (2nd time off the cd)
     
  7. Kasey Krehbiel
    Offline

    Kasey Krehbiel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Culpeper, VA
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you already did a wipe data/factory reset then you shouldn't have to do it again. See if the phone will come up on its own after the SBF.
     
  8. jonathon1289
    Offline

    jonathon1289 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Middle TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    The second SBF just finished. Unplugged the phone, pulled the battery and reinserted and powered on the device. Straight back to the bootloader.....I am fairly positive that trying a different machine and/or version of RSDlite will not make a difference since the boot cd isn't working.
    So, any other suggestions? I may take it into VZW and see what they say (blame the GB update perhaps? Lets not make this an ethics discussion though).
     
  9. Kasey Krehbiel
    Offline

    Kasey Krehbiel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Culpeper, VA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I would try a different SBF file.
     
  10. jonathon1289
    Offline

    jonathon1289 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Middle TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried 3 different downloads, plus the one that is built into the Linux cd......My first thought was a bad download (even though I had used it before)
     
  11. Kasey Krehbiel
    Offline

    Kasey Krehbiel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Culpeper, VA
    Ratings:
    +1
    In that case I would try a different cable and/or PC.
     
  12. jonathon1289
    Offline

    jonathon1289 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Middle TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Three different computers and 2 different cables?
     
Search tags for this page

making update zip from sbf