Help contacts didnt sync right.

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by D3m0nicSoul, Feb 4, 2011.

  1. D3m0nicSoul
    Offline

    D3m0nicSoul New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so i updated and for some reason it only restored 23 out of my 80 some contacts. I made a nandroid backup is there anyway to get them back?
     
  2. Isak73
    Offline

    Isak73 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same thing happened to me I flashed to liberty 1.5 and my contacts didn't transfer. I use my backup root and have my contacts saved so I just opened it and let it sync. If you don't have a backup then restore your previous rom backup your contacts with my backup root or titanium and you will be good!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  3. D3m0nicSoul
    Offline

    D3m0nicSoul New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok wait so i have a backup with recovery bootstrapper and my sd cards root on my desktop. Is one of those correct?
     
  4. Isak73
    Offline

    Isak73 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whenever you last made a backup to where your contacts were all there I would reset and wipe then install your previous backup from bootstrapper. Once that is up get you one of those programs. My back up root is free I saved my contacts to sd card. Once I flashed I went into opened my backup root clicked manage then opened up my saved contacts. Might take a minute but should get you your contacts back.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  5. D3m0nicSoul
    Offline

    D3m0nicSoul New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    o ok cause it resync them with gmail and now gmails only got like 23 contacts ugh
     
  6. Isak73
    Offline

    Isak73 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    And yes not sure where you stored your last backup but obtain it through bootstrapper wipe then restore.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  7. Isak73
    Offline

    Isak73 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I know your pain I had to do what im telling you its a waste of time but needs to be done. Google didn't sync mine either I went from 417 to 24 contacts I almost freaked out!!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  8. D3m0nicSoul
    Offline

    D3m0nicSoul New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok. damn this restore is taking forever does that app backup programs like titanium?
     
  9. Isak73
    Offline

    Isak73 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I have all my apps backedup through my backup root but I haven't tried to restore apps just data and contacts. I'm running the liberty 1.5 and it automatically restored my apps. Its nice to have the backup though!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  10. D3m0nicSoul
    Offline

    D3m0nicSoul New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea but i dont like that it restores my apps id rather do them all myself cause the ones i forget about i dont really need =P
     
  11. robbiem
    Offline

    robbiem Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    L2SYNC Contacts..... lol jk


    anyway dont use anything but this method for your contacts..... NOTHING ELSE I SWEAR.

    1:Reboot into your stock nandroid backup
    2:Run the backup assistant app
    3:Make a pin and all that jazz and let it backup your contacts
    4:Goto VZW.COM and log in, click on the search box and type in backup assistant
    5:Log into backup assistant, all your contacts should be there.
    6:Click select all , then click actions, then click export as .csv outlook
    7:Import into Gmail..
    8:Reboot into your fresh rom backup
    9:Sign into google and allow to update.
    10:Bask in the glory of never needing to transfer contacts again, because we learned to use google. :p
     
  12. Growler48
    Offline

    Growler48 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can my backup isolate just the contacts or do you have to backup everything?
     
  13. Crispityyy
    Offline

    Crispityyy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    OKay, I am experiencing a different type of sync "problem" when wiping and coming to a new ROM.

    Previously I had all my contacts linked with my Facebook contacts so that the pictures showed up for them in my Contacts. BEFORE flashing 1.5, I backup all my contacts (Contacts/Menu/Export/Export to SD).

    When I start up 1.5 after the wipe, I then import all the contacts to my phone. All of the contacts appear (which is good). I then add the Facebook app, and join the contacts together so that the pictures can be used for my contacts, yet now only about 50% of the contact pictures actually show.

    ....Sorry for the lost post, but has anyone had this problem? :icon_eek:

    EDIT: I did factory reset again, and checked all the boxes to let google sync all my info. After this, it auto added my FB contacts, and linked them all perfectly. Pictures and all =)
     
  14. Isak73
    Offline

    Isak73 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is a good method rob but mine stopped syncing while switching roms? So had to go other route . .

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  15. Growler48
    Offline

    Growler48 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I assume this only works if you haven't changed your contacts between ROMs, right? I have a lot more contacts now than I did when I made my stock nandroid, so I'm assuming this won't work. Do I understand this correctly?
     
Search tags for this page

i got a new droid phone but my contacts didn't transfer

,

new verizon droid didnt transfer all contacts

,

s5 didnt sync contacts right

,

some of my facebook contacts didnt sync

,

verizon didnt transfer all my contacts

,

why didnt all my android appa transfet to new phone

,

why didnt all my contacts transfer to new droid

,

why didnt all of my contacts transfer on google

,

why didnt my contacts sync

,

why didnt my phone numbers in contacts synch with my new s5