Handcent SMS issue

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by BodyBagz, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. BodyBagz

    BodyBagz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Ratings:
    +5
    Ok guys and girls...feel free to point me in a good direction to fix this 1 single issue I have at the moment with Handcent...

    Handcent has a ringtone set for its notification...and that is working, the problem is, its also playing an MP3 after the notification ringtone is done! I have been through all the settings on Handcent and so far not found anything to suggest this is a user assigned task...

    So, any ideas...anybody else experience this issue?
     
  2. BodyBagz

    BodyBagz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Ratings:
    +5
    Come on now...no one has any idea or fix for this stubborn little problem?
     
  3. airborne3e9

    airborne3e9 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    you dont have something set as a send notification sound...this is under the received notifications settings
     
  4. BodyBagz

    BodyBagz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Ratings:
    +5
    No, only notification setting I had enabled was just a normal "receive message" tone..and it plays.

    This has got to be a Handcent issue...now it is no longer playing an MP3...but, it is combining 2 separate notification sounds...1 plays for a second, then the other kicks in and finishes normally...:icon_eek:
     
  5. Skull One

    Skull One Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    The original MMS apk is still responding to the events. You have to launch messaging, menu, settings, and uncheck notifications.
     
  6. Dreken

    Dreken New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you checked to make sure the standard messaging app isn't still set to give out its ringtones, i had that problem when i first set up handcent, i forgot to stop the notifications from the standard app and was getting double notified as well as double ringtones.
     
  7. BodyBagz

    BodyBagz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Ratings:
    +5
    Wow...never thought of that...figured Handcent would "override" the default messaging apps sounds..

    Never-the-less, I checked that, and believe that is going to do the trick...Thanks fellas!:icon_ banana:
     
  8. stabenheimer

    stabenheimer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    recently my default messaging has been playing my audio alert as well as showing the taskbar notification. i checked the settings and everything is turned off. its really starting to annoy me.

    rooted droid 2.2 bugless beast... doesnt seem so bugless though
     
  9. LovelySakura247

    LovelySakura247 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    East Coast ~ USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I own a droid 2 and have used handcent sms for a while. My friend recently got the droid 3 and tried using the same app. Whenever she tries to add a background image, it remains in a small square shape (image file is landscape and high res) and then stretches the image making it look all pixelated. How can she get it to look normal? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated (^_^)

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  10. BenLand150

    BenLand150 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,815
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +103
    I use handcent and have a sports car as my background, not pixelated at all. Is her picture she's trying to use to small so when she trys to apply it, it stretches out to much? Bigger the picture, the better it'll fit. If that's it it, did she try reinstalling the app and trying?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  11. LovelySakura247

    LovelySakura247 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    East Coast ~ USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    The files were large and at high res. she uninstalled/installed the app and its still not working right <:/

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  12. bonesjones

    bonesjones Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried gosms
     
Search tags for this page
can you add a picture as a signature on handcent sms
,
cant get full image as sms background for handcent
,
handcent background blurry
,

handcent blurry background

,
handcent fit photo for background
,
handscent sms download message issue
,
how to set a background on handcent sms
,
why is the handcent background blurry?