Google Voice - Questions

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by smilepak, Jan 26, 2010.

  1. smilepak

    smilepak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just setup google voice on the droid. If I initiate a call from my droid dial out using Google Voice, am I using voice minute plan or am I using data plan?

    If Data Plan, if I set it on WIFI, does it work?
     
  2. ezekiel2000

    ezekiel2000 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You are using your voice minutes.
     
  3. smilepak

    smilepak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    bummer. I guess I have to figure out how to use skpe on droid?
     
  4. ezekiel2000

    ezekiel2000 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good luck, as far as I know it can't be done yet. From what I've read, if you had an existing Gizmo5 account you could use your data plan, but other than that, anything you try is going to use your voice minutes. You CAN use google voice for your SMS so you don't incur texting costs through your provider if you set it up correctly. All of this has been discussed in detail in many previous threads on this site, do a search on thread titles of "google voice" to learn more in detail.
     
  5. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Definitely check out the existing GV threads. There's a ton of useful information in them. No need to reinvent the wheel for each basic question.