Google search no longer works

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by joeybarclay, Nov 5, 2010.

  1. joeybarclay

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    So I saw that there was an update for Google search I unistalled my Search.apk, rebooted and got the update. I can do voice commands with a long press but if it just try to do a regular search nothing happens. I can go into the market and find the search app and when I open it, it works fine. How do I get my search app to open using the search button? Should I uninstall my Google search app and just reinstall the one in UD settings or is there a way to get this working in the new update.
     
  2. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Is it installed to the SD card or internal memory? If it's on the SD card it might not still be bound properly to the search softkey.
     
  3. joeybarclay

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    It is on the internal memory
     
  4. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Is it in the /system/app directory?
     
  5. joeybarclay

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    If its name is voice search it is there but there is nothing called Google search in /system/app
     
  6. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Or in CyanogenMod 6.1 RC-2.

    Okay, I'm stumped. Did you use Root Explorer or the terminal to delete the app?
     
  7. joeybarclay

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I unistalled using titanium backup.
     
  8. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Okay. Dumb question -- have you rebooted since you reinstalled and do you have the original app backed up so you can just reinstall it and try again?
     
  9. joeybarclay

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't have the app backed up but I have restarted I am thinking about wiping data and uninstalling via TB and then trying to reinstall from the market. On a side note I do not know were google search is on my phone if I want to remove it with root explorer.
     
  10. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    I asked about rebooting because if you use the terminal you have to reboot to finalize any changes. :)

    I saw instructions on how to uninstall it and the voice search via terminal in CM 6 without having to reinstall the latest version of the app pack, but I don't know if UD would have it in the same place, and with the godmode script the instructions would be different anyway. With that in mind, does UD come with an app pack?

    Though those would probably be system apps, so you'd have to reinstall the ROM to get them back.
     
  11. joeybarclay

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I hope I don't have to reflash I am going to try what I said in my previous post but I am waiting in case I need to do a Nandroid restore because I have low battery.
    Edit: I may remove both voice search and Google search because when I look on the market there is only one so maybe both apps downloaded at once and because I didn't delete it, it screwed the other app.
     
  12. joeybarclay

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Dang I just don't understand how the application can work but not get launched with the search key. Can I reflash my Rom without wiping anything and just have it fix the app that I screwed up or will I have to wipe?