Foxfi is working on VZ GNex now?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by tndroid, Oct 18, 2012.

  1. tndroid

    tndroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    what has been changed?
     
  2. GalaxyFlatulence

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    don't know, didn't last i tried, but there's a ton of other wifi apps that work as good or better in the market. i'm using "wifi tether" now, and it's much quicker to get working.
     
  3. tndroid

    tndroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i tried last night, it was working. i read the comments on Google store, it says it works on VZ GNex JB. Is "wifi tether" working on unrooted GNex and still can avoid VZ extra charge? Thanks! I still have the old unlimited data plan with VZ...
     
  4. GalaxyFlatulence

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    that i'm not sure of. you can try, won't hurt anything.
     
  5. nubby

    nubby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +1
    Wasn't working with JB.
     
  6. trackman1

    trackman1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just installed foxfi on my GNEX....i noticed that after i downloaded files on my pc.....there was alot of data usage that went on my account.....my question is when i am connected using foxfi ..do the files and things I d/l get added to the verizon acct???

    thanks in advance
     
  7. coconutt

    coconutt Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you mean exactly?

    If you have the unlimited data plan still, you have no worries as to what/how much you download etc. But if you have a new limited plan, you should keep an eye on your data usage.
     
  8. trackman1

    trackman1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry what i maent is I have a 2 gig data plan.....and for some reason I thought it was strange that I started using foxfi and d/l things from the web....and noticed a large amount of data being added to my acct...and just wondered if it was because of using foxfi or it is something else...hope i clarified it.....
     
  9. nubby

    nubby Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +1
    I would think if you are downloading, you are using data, and thus your data would be added to your account.
    It's not unlimited data, it is wireless tethering...
     
  10. coconutt

    coconutt Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah this. As soon as your computer is connected to your phone's network and you click open that browser, data is being used.
     
  11. trackman1

    trackman1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok just to clarify ....i was d/l from the web to my pc........my question is that using foxfi and d/l on my computer is not the reason that the files I d/l that the data is being charged???.....if to just go to different sites?...or just downloads??
     
    #11 trackman1, Oct 22, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2012
  12. mysticalmalissa

    mysticalmalissa Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Top of the Rock, TN (Sequatchie)
    Ratings:
    +26
    Anything you do on the web while using FoxFi will show as data used on your vzw account. I wouldnt recommend using it if you aren't grandfathered into the old unlimited plan.
     
Search tags for this page

does foxfi use data

,

foxfi stopped working after verizon 4.3 update galaxy