Force close on "Battery use" shortcut?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by Mule65, Oct 11, 2010.

  1. Mule65
    Offline

    Mule65 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Stock Droid X 2.2

    Does this happen to anyone else?

    1. Long press blank area of a home screen
    2. Select Shortcuts
    3. Settings
    4. Battery Use
    5. Ok
    6. Click newly created "Battery use" shortcut
    7. Sorry! Force close
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Just tried it on my D2. Pretty close to an X internally. No issue.
  3. Mule65
    Offline

    Mule65 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks. I'm pretty sure it's X specific. I'm also using LauncherPro but don't think it's the cause. FC every time on my X.
  4. Laramie
    Offline

    Laramie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    When I link Battery Use to the "Quick Battery" widget, I have gotten a few FCs. Stock 2.2
  5. Lightninrod
    Offline

    Lightninrod New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Warner Robins, GA
    Strangely enough, I was getting FCs on Battery Indicator Pro this afternoon??? Cleared up on its own after several minutes.
  6. jmorton10
    Offline

    jmorton10 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Very common problem (mine does it too), there have been other posts about it.

    A battery pull/restart usually clears it up temporarily but it's a bug in the program.

    ~John
  7. cjriddle22
    Offline

    cjriddle22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    the Ville
    Also plugging the phone into the charger will usually fix this, but it resets the counter for how long you've been unplugged, hence making the stats for the battery manager useless. They really need to address this as it is a new feature in froyo.
  8. Mule65
    Offline

    Mule65 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Huh, mine is working this morning. This reeks of another MotoBlur bug.
  9. maurilax
    Offline

    maurilax New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
  10. alboboy10
    Offline

    alboboy10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine force closes a lot too...I have battery settings on my dock. Does that several times in a row. Eventually it works again.
  11. Scubamike
    Offline

    Scubamike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    maurilax, thank you for the link. It is good to know that Motorola is aware and taking action.

    What is the deal with Motorblur? Am I missing the really crappy side of it? Why does everyone hate it?

    I can't say anything bad about. In fact, one of the forum posts I read on droidforums.net said that Motoblur is what gave us the ability to "pull" our update verses waiting for it to be pushed like the D1 chaps had to. Even if that bit of info is false, I still appreciate having it on my phone.
  12. Section Twelve
    Offline

    Section Twelve New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Right behind you...
    Motorola recently acknowledged the crash with the battery information shortcut.

    They claim it will be fixed "in the future."
Search tags for this page

battery fc in android

,

battery use force close android