1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

FIX - Audio streaming (quality issues)

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by JoelWRX, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. JoelWRX
    Offline

    JoelWRX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Froyo ROMs have seem to promoted complaints about audio streamings issues, in apps like Pandora or SiriusXM.

    There was a temporary fix identified.

    To fix it:
    Edit build.prop (pull it to your comp using adb or fix with root explorer)
    Find media.stagefright.enable-player=true
    Edit media.stagefright.enable-player=false
    Save it and reboot.. this has fixed my issues with all streaming
  2. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    who found this fix? are there any side effects?
  3. carlz28
    Offline

    carlz28 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Somebody over at xda-developers found the fix. I applied it last week and have yet to find any ill effects. My Pandora sounds great again. Any media on my phone plays normal as well.
  4. JoelWRX
    Offline

    JoelWRX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As mentioned a member at XDA found it I've been using it and it has fixed quality issues and the annoying loop issue in the SiriusXM app.

    I posted it here because I couldn't find it anywhere on the forum of cvps I know a few others using sapphire mentioned the problem.
  5. supersaki
    Offline

    supersaki New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is that a typo for the Edit? Should it be 'stagefright.media-player:false'?
  6. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    gonna try it now. i wonder if this will fix the looping i've been experiencing in the mlb at bat app...

    /edit

    i have sapphire .0.9.5 with the market fix from .0.8.4 applied, and the closest thing i see is:

    Code:
    media.stagefright.enable-player=true
    
  7. JoelWRX
    Offline

    JoelWRX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes that is an error correct code is
    media.stagefright.enable-player=false

    And this fix will generally fix all streaming audio issues
  8. GodfatherIP
    Offline

    GodfatherIP New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I am also on Sapphire 0.9.5 and I see 4 things similar to the entry in the op:
    media.stagefright.enable-player=true
    media.stagefright.enable-meta=true
    media.stagefright.enable-scan=true
    media.stagefright.enable-http=true

    Should I set them all to false, just set enable-player to false, or am I missing something? Any help would be appreciated.

    EDIT:
    It looks like media.stagefright.enable-player=true is the one that must be edited and the others don't matter.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=737111
  9. GodfatherIP
    Offline

    GodfatherIP New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also big thanks to the OP for giving us the heads up on this fix! dancedroid
  10. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Thanks for the heads up!
  11. YankInDaSouth
    Offline

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Can this be done using terminal emulator? Not too familiar with adb.
  12. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    thank you op!
  13. GodfatherIP
    Offline

    GodfatherIP New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, just use terminal emulator to copy /system/build.prop to your sd card, then browse to it with any file manager (like astro) and open it with the text editor, change the line and save changes, then use terminal emulator to push it back to /system and reboot your phone. I actually did the whole thing with root explorer but terminal emulator should work fine.
  14. Droidfish
    Offline

    Droidfish New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Deep South of NM
    Thank you so much, can't wait to try this
  15. YankInDaSouth
    Offline

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    OK - apologies for the n00b question, but how do I us TE to copy to the SD card?
  16. JoelWRX
    Offline

    JoelWRX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You don't use text editor to copy to SD CARD here are the steps you may take.

    Open up terminal emulator or adb shell whichever you perfer

    $su
    #cd /system/
    #cp /system/build.prop /sdcard/build.prop

    Then plug your phone into your computer or use ASTRO file manager and open the build.prop (on your computer use notepad on ASTRO use text editor) -- save your changes.

    $su
    #dd if=/sdcard/build.prop of=/system/build.prop
    #sync
    #reboot

    Like someone mentioned earlier, its way easier to use root explorer to do it.
  17. YankInDaSouth
    Offline

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    I did this and after entering "#dd if=/sdcard/build.prop of=/system/build.prop" got some message about a read only file. I tried it without the "dd", rebooted and I don't know if it's my imagination but Pandora sounds much better! With my headphones on I can crank it up and it doesn't sound like crap!! I don't know - I could be crazy.

    Thanks so much for posting a terminal emulator procedure! It amazes me how you guys figure this stuff out!
  18. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    FYI, for the more noob out there (like myself), Root Explorer does this just like a normal file system, and even automatically makes a backup copy when you save and exit the file. You simply navigate to /system, hit the "r/w" button at the top right (to change it from read only to read/write), open build.prop, change said text, save and exit, and reboot.
  19. cvpcs
    Offline

    cvpcs Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey all, i just wanted to drop in and talk about this "fix" for a second.

    For those who don't know, StageFright is the new media library for Froyo. Before StageFright was around, everything was done using a library called OpenCore Media Framework. I'm assuming that the media.stagefright.blah-enabe=true is the method of telling froyo to use StageFright instead of OpenCore.

    So what's the big deal? Well, I need to do some testing but for instance FLAC music support was added to StageFright in Froyo, not OpenCore (where as it was the opposite in eclair), so if you use OpenCore to play your music, it might not be able to play FLAC files as it stands right now.

    This is the kind of thing issue that may arise with the whole switching off stagefright thing. However, I am going to quickly look into it and see if I can figure out definitively if this is the case or not. If it is I will consider adding FLAC support to OpenCore as well and then it won't matter, possibly with adding something to GEM Settings to switch back and forth in case of other future implications.

    Hope that sheds some light on why this works and what it may mean in the long-run, as Android moves more towards StageFright for its media needs.
  20. JoelWRX
    Offline

    JoelWRX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Sorry I am rusty on code I use ROM Manager and Root Explorer for everything.

    $su
    #mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
    #dd if=/sdcard/build.prop of=/system/build.prop
    #sync
    #reboot

    but if you got it to work, thats good to!

    Thanks for the update there cvpcs! I was sorta leaning towards the same thing, except I didn't realize that included FLAC support. Cool insight man!
Search tags for this page
# media.stagefright.enable-player=false
,
falsemedia.stagefright.enable
,
low quality audio streaming fix
,

media stagefright

,
media.stagefright streaming
,
media.stagefright.enable
,
media.stagefright.enable-player true
,
media.stagefright.enable-player=false
,
media.statgefright.enable
,
mtk media.stagefright.enable-player=true