FIX - Audio streaming (quality issues)

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by JoelWRX, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. JoelWRX

    JoelWRX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Froyo ROMs have seem to promoted complaints about audio streamings issues, in apps like Pandora or SiriusXM.

    There was a temporary fix identified.

    To fix it:
    Edit build.prop (pull it to your comp using adb or fix with root explorer)
    Find media.stagefright.enable-player=true
    Edit media.stagefright.enable-player=false
    Save it and reboot.. this has fixed my issues with all streaming
     
  2. brochaos

    brochaos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    who found this fix? are there any side effects?
     
  3. carlz28

    carlz28 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    820
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Somebody over at xda-developers found the fix. I applied it last week and have yet to find any ill effects. My Pandora sounds great again. Any media on my phone plays normal as well.
     
  4. JoelWRX

    JoelWRX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    As mentioned a member at XDA found it I've been using it and it has fixed quality issues and the annoying loop issue in the SiriusXM app.

    I posted it here because I couldn't find it anywhere on the forum of cvps I know a few others using sapphire mentioned the problem.
     
  5. supersaki

    supersaki Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is that a typo for the Edit? Should it be 'stagefright.media-player:false'?
     
  6. brochaos

    brochaos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    gonna try it now. i wonder if this will fix the looping i've been experiencing in the mlb at bat app...

    /edit

    i have sapphire .0.9.5 with the market fix from .0.8.4 applied, and the closest thing i see is:

    Code:
    media.stagefright.enable-player=true
    
     
  7. JoelWRX

    JoelWRX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes that is an error correct code is
    media.stagefright.enable-player=false

    And this fix will generally fix all streaming audio issues
     
  8. GodfatherIP

    GodfatherIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I am also on Sapphire 0.9.5 and I see 4 things similar to the entry in the op:
    media.stagefright.enable-player=true
    media.stagefright.enable-meta=true
    media.stagefright.enable-scan=true
    media.stagefright.enable-http=true

    Should I set them all to false, just set enable-player to false, or am I missing something? Any help would be appreciated.

    EDIT:
    It looks like media.stagefright.enable-player=true is the one that must be edited and the others don't matter.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=737111
     
  9. GodfatherIP

    GodfatherIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also big thanks to the OP for giving us the heads up on this fix! dancedroid
     
  10. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks for the heads up!
     
  11. YankInDaSouth

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,119
    Likes Received:
    245
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Ratings:
    +254
    Can this be done using terminal emulator? Not too familiar with adb.
     
  12. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,448
    Likes Received:
    299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +300
    thank you op!
     
Search tags for this page
falsemedia.stagefright.enable
,
low quality audio streaming fix
,

media stagefright

,
media.stagefright.enable
,
# media.stagefright.enable-player=false
,
media.stagefright.enable-player=false
,
media.stagefright.enable-player true
,
media.stagefright streaming
,
media.statgefright.enable
,
mtk media.stagefright.enable-player=true