First impressions of my new Droid - some hiccups for me

MrTommy

Reaction score
First off, I've got to say I absolutely love the technology behind this 'phone'. It's fun to fiddle with even when I'm not actually using it for anything. This is what I've been waiting for. Instant weather maps, road conditions a click away, web surfing. Wow.

However, being an OTR truck driver, I've already found some problems as far as my use. My phone will be suctioned to the windshield, and constantly having to press that button at the upper right to make anything happen will end up causing the phone to fall off the windshield (I just know it, because occasionally my nv2 does it, and it's much lighter). I wish a simple screen touch would activate the screen. I understand the need for the screen to go dark to conserve power, but the hard press on that button is going to be a problem that the ordinary user doesn't face. I might be able to set the bottom of my window mount so it sits on the dash, but then there might be problems reaching down to it (you'd have to see my dash board to completely understand my plight). I won't be able to check this out until tomorrow when I go in to work. Sigh.

Doing quick text messaging will be sorta unquick because the virtual keyboard requires a steady hand, and there no such thing in my truck (ha). Even the pull-out keyboard poses a problem because I installed a "Body Glove" protective cover on the phone and it partially blocks the top row of keys. My fault, of course, but I thought the protection would be good in MY case especially.

Most of this stuff could be viewed as trivial of course, but the big thing will be the part about having to press that button at the top all the time. I hate to say it, but for me this might just be the deal breaker. I might have to return the phone for this simple thing - and it pains me. I LOVE THIS THING!!!:frown:

texasPI

Reaction score