1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Exchange/Cisco and the Droid...

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by TimParker, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. TimParker
    Offline

    TimParker New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I must be missing something here. Hopefully someone can help me out. I see talk about people using Touchdown and talking to Exchange servers. But the current OS doesn't work with Cisco Group Authentication unless "rooted" from what I can tell.....

    I am not a Cisco "expert" (I know enough to be dangerous). So how are people using their Droids with Exchange? Are they all rooted? Is there a different way I should configure my Cisco VPN to be able to get back into the office to the Exchange server?

    TIA.

    Tim
  2. chiadrum
    Offline

    chiadrum New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fairfield Ct
    Is the Exchange Active Synch not working for you?
    I had a small bit of trouble setting it up but since then it has been perfect.
    For example-I had to use web-mail.trinetsystems.com to authenticate rather that https://web-mail.trinetsystems.com
    after that I was in business.
  3. TimParker
    Offline

    TimParker New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No my problem is that I can't get connected with our VPN. It has to do with the Droids VPN software not doing Group authentication. I am not sure what I need to change/upgrade or do to get away from it.

    If I just turn on the wifi (while in the office) I can use Touchdown and get email just fine. It's when we are not in the office that I need/would like it to work.....

    How do you connect into your office from remote?
  4. chiadrum
    Offline

    chiadrum New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fairfield Ct
    Did you setup Exchange Active Synch when you first activated your phone?
    I was prompted when I powered up my phone and it has worked very well for me.
    Goto-Menu-Settings-Accounts and Sync.
    You should have an Exchange Active Synch option.
    Setup was straightforward other that excluding the https:// from my company's webmail address in the setup.
  5. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    If your office's Exchange server isn't setup to accept external ActiveSync connections then you're screwed. Android is a HUGE failure at VPN support and as you mentioned does not work unless you're rooted... even then it flaky at best.
  6. TimParker
    Offline

    TimParker New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was just about to update this with some more info....the fact that we don't allow external connections to our Mail server. That may be the way I have to go in the future. We have to worry about HIPPA laws so I am very leary of it....

    Oh well, time to rethink our strategies I guess.....
  7. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I have the same issue at work. Though I don't use my Droid for work I just wanted to see if I could get it setup... our Exchange admins don't allow external ActiveSync connections because it's not an adopted standard within our company yet...

    One of the only things I wish Android had that the iPhone has is native Cisco concentrator compatibility.
  8. chiadrum
    Offline

    chiadrum New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fairfield Ct
    Ok-sorry to steer you in the wrong direction.
    Could your company allow forwarding to gmail?
Search tags for this page

droidx rsv4000vpn

,

rvs4000 to android vpn

,

rvs4000 to droid x vpn

,

touchdown cisco email