Exchange/Cisco and the Droid...

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by TimParker, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. TimParker
    Offline

    TimParker New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I must be missing something here. Hopefully someone can help me out. I see talk about people using Touchdown and talking to Exchange servers. But the current OS doesn't work with Cisco Group Authentication unless "rooted" from what I can tell.....

    I am not a Cisco "expert" (I know enough to be dangerous). So how are people using their Droids with Exchange? Are they all rooted? Is there a different way I should configure my Cisco VPN to be able to get back into the office to the Exchange server?

    TIA.

    Tim
  2. chiadrum
    Offline

    chiadrum New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fairfield Ct
    Is the Exchange Active Synch not working for you?
    I had a small bit of trouble setting it up but since then it has been perfect.
    For example-I had to use web-mail.trinetsystems.com to authenticate rather that https://web-mail.trinetsystems.com
    after that I was in business.
  3. TimParker
    Offline

    TimParker New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No my problem is that I can't get connected with our VPN. It has to do with the Droids VPN software not doing Group authentication. I am not sure what I need to change/upgrade or do to get away from it.

    If I just turn on the wifi (while in the office) I can use Touchdown and get email just fine. It's when we are not in the office that I need/would like it to work.....

    How do you connect into your office from remote?
  4. chiadrum
    Offline

    chiadrum New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fairfield Ct
    Did you setup Exchange Active Synch when you first activated your phone?
    I was prompted when I powered up my phone and it has worked very well for me.
    Goto-Menu-Settings-Accounts and Sync.
    You should have an Exchange Active Synch option.
    Setup was straightforward other that excluding the https:// from my company's webmail address in the setup.
  5. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    If your office's Exchange server isn't setup to accept external ActiveSync connections then you're screwed. Android is a HUGE failure at VPN support and as you mentioned does not work unless you're rooted... even then it flaky at best.
  6. TimParker
    Offline

    TimParker New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was just about to update this with some more info....the fact that we don't allow external connections to our Mail server. That may be the way I have to go in the future. We have to worry about HIPPA laws so I am very leary of it....

    Oh well, time to rethink our strategies I guess.....
  7. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I have the same issue at work. Though I don't use my Droid for work I just wanted to see if I could get it setup... our Exchange admins don't allow external ActiveSync connections because it's not an adopted standard within our company yet...

    One of the only things I wish Android had that the iPhone has is native Cisco concentrator compatibility.
  8. chiadrum
    Offline

    chiadrum New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fairfield Ct
    Ok-sorry to steer you in the wrong direction.
    Could your company allow forwarding to gmail?
Search tags for this page

droidx rsv4000vpn

,

rvs4000 to android vpn

,

rvs4000 to droid x vpn

,

setting my phone to work with ciscos exchange server

,

touchdown cisco email