Education

Jaeger

Reaction score
Gentlemen, I am a fairly new X owner and new to smartphones in general. I have no programming background.
I rooted my phone with easy root to take advantage of wifi tether. I also installed autostarts and autokiller and followed the instructions on how to set them up. Between that and launcher pro my X is running beautifully.
I would like to be able to get up to speed and learn the basics of what I need to know to be able to use root access to it's fullest potential. I don't want to be developer, just a user. When 2.2 finally comes OTA I would like to be able to maintain root and my current state of tune, if nothing else.

Corinacakes

Super Moderator
Theme Developer
Reaction score
HoWdy Jaeger :D You've done about all a person can do with the X until the bootloader is cracked. I think there's some themes you can apply and remove some of the bloatware if you haven't already. I suggest you remove the autokiller. Those do more harm than good. Android has it's own method of starting and stopping apps. I'm glad using easy root went well for you! You got lucky :D

OP
J

Jaeger

Reaction score
As I understand it, Autokiller is more a method of tweaking android's management system than it is a task killer. Right now I'm not changing anything. Right now this thing is running like it should have when it was delivered. Smooth, fast and lag free.

I think what I am looking for is a place to go to learn more about the mechanics of what is going on inside the systems. I read the threads on upgrading to 2.2 but didn't know what the heck they were talking about so I didn't mess with it. I just read one on low quadrant scores and how to fix it. Not only do I not understand how to fix it but I don't know what a quadrant score is. There has to be a resource available to learn this stuff.

fwaggle

Reaction score