DVD Catalyst Settings for Droid 3

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by mrtoto54660, Jul 27, 2011.

  1. mrtoto54660
    Offline

    mrtoto54660 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Can someone inform me what settings work for the Droid 3 on DVD Catalyst 4? I dont want to convert my movies until I know what setting is the best for it. I will be receiving my Droid 3 tomorrow and want to swap my movies from the Droid X Settings to the Droid 3.

    Thanks
  2. Quicksilver7714
    Offline

    Quicksilver7714 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,444
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    If there is a setting for the Droid X2 use that, as it had the same pixel ratio as the Droid 3 960x540.
    I havent updated my DVD catalyst in quite some time.
  3. dvdcatalyst
    Online

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    DVD Catalyst & Droid 3

    If you are using 4.0.2.7, just select the Xoom profile, and in "Modify" change the screen resolution to 960x540

    Otherwise, update to DVD Catalyst 4.1 Beta (RC2), which has profiles for the Droid 3, as well as most other newly released Android devices:

    DVD Catalyst 4 v4.1 RC2 Release Notes | DVD Catalyst 4, the ultimate app for movies & tv on the go

    To update to DVD Catalyst 4 v4.1 RC2, enable “Power User”, then in Global Settings > Version info, click on the Beta button.
  4. technogeek00
    Offline

    technogeek00 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I actually just went on a trip and needed some movies to watch so I ripped some of my blu-rays with ripbot264 at full resolution into mp4s, they are around 2gb each but play flawlessly on the phone.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  5. Tepes
    Offline

    Tepes New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    I actually went and grabbed the free dvd catalyst DX converter and have been really happy with how my movies turned out. I would also suggest buying their movie gallery app from the market. Best way to look through your movies on your phone and has a built in player that has played my movies and shows better than any other.

    Sent from my Hitchhiker's Guide mark 2
  6. AZDroid09
    Offline

    AZDroid09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I purchased DVD Catalyst 4, updated to the beta, chose Droid 3 as my device and started the conversion. It was going to take a couple hours so I went to bed. Next morning I hooked up my Droid and loaded it on, video can't play. I also tried playing it on my computer but it says Quicktime can't play it either. I did not change any settings, thought it would automatically do what is best for the Droid 3 since that's the device I specified the conversion for. What went wrong?

    I had previously used the free version for my old Droid 1 and I put one of those saved converted videos on my D3 and it plays fine. What am I missing?
  7. dvdcatalyst
    Online

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    I'm not sure. The settings for the D3 in the beta work fine. Maybe something caused the conversion to fail?

    What DVD did you convert?
  8. AZDroid09
    Offline

    AZDroid09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The DVD I converted was The Switch, I'm trying a different one now in case it was an issue with that particular DVD, will post back with results on that one later once it finally finishes, for some reason this second one is really slow, only 0.64x speed :blink:
  9. dvdcatalyst
    Online

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    DVD Catalyst has a few different ways of accessing a DVD. By default it uses the fastest possible access mode, but some DVDs don't like that, so DVD Catalyst switches to a slower, more reliable conversion mode so the DVD still gets converted.
  10. AZDroid09
    Offline

    AZDroid09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same thing with this movie, New In Town, won't play on my laptop because it is not a file QuickTime understands. A lot of freaking hours wasted here, guess I should have stuck with the old free version. Do you have a suggestion for getting it working? Should I go back to the purchased non beta version? Or should I go back to the free version and request a refund? My laptop is running Vista 64 if that info is helpful :mad:
  11. dvdcatalyst
    Online

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    It could be the beta version that is causing the complications you are experiencing, however, I have been using the beta for most of my own conversions without any issues whatsoever.

    Maybe something didn't go well when you upgraded to the beta. While it shouldn't, it could be that a setting accidentally got changed.

    * Make sure DVD Catalyst is not running
    *Click on "START" > "RUN" (or hold down the windows-key on your keyboard and tap the "R" key)
    *In the run dialog, type in:

    %appdata%

    and click OK

    *delete the "DVD Catalyst 4" folder

    This will reset DVD Catalyst to it's defaults, and will take care of most possible issues.

    After that, start DVD Cat, select the Droid3 profile and start a conversion. When it gets a few minutes into the conversion, tap the "skip" button, and see if the created file plays in Quicktime (saves waiting for the entire conversion to complete)
  12. howzball
    Offline

    howzball New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there some magic trick to convert .avchd/.mts files with DVDCatalyst?
    I've been trying to use it to convert the videos from my digital camcorder to something playable by the Android devices but all I get are empty .mp4 files out of DVDcatalyst.

    It looks and acts like it's doing the conversion but the files are always 0 bytes in size.
  13. dvdcatalyst
    Online

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    Update to the latest beta, which supports the audio formats often used in avchd. The current conversion engine doesn't like those too much.

    DVD Catalyst 4 v4.1 RC3 Release Notes | DVD Catalyst 4, the ultimate app for movies & tv on the go
  14. AZDroid09
    Offline

    AZDroid09 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, I did that and restarted my computer then tried again and it worked. Thanks for the support, I was getting frustrated.
  15. howzball
    Offline

    howzball New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks
    The beta version seems to output a playable file although audio is out of sync pretty far and about 2 minutes shorter than the video.

    In MediaInfo the video file is 4 min and 52 seconds long, the audio is 2 min 42 seconds long.
    Maybe the audio in these types of files is still throwing DVDcatalyst a curve.
  16. dvdcatalyst
    Online

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    The beta has a setting in Global > Video files for fixing issues with certain filetypes. With some camera files, due to the audio rate being optimized for voice, sync issues can happen, which is eliminated by enabling the fix.

    The fix regenerates the file before conversion. It will not result in quality-loss, however, the conversions for m2ts/mts files with the fix enabled will be a bit slower.
  17. howzball
    Offline

    howzball New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That seemed to do the trick, it creates a fairly size-able tmp.avi file and I assume works on that file to compress down to a smaller size?

    Should I expect DVDCatalyst to remove that tmp.avi file or is that a manual deal? It didn't remove this one so I'm just wondering what the intent is?

    Glad to get this working, I knew if handbrake could handle those file types DVDcatalyst should be able to.
  18. dvdcatalyst
    Online

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    The tmp avi is created using a same-quality method, which ends up larger than the original. The video and audio actually does get converted using a different conversion engine, unfortunately, it is not capable of the same settings as what I use in the normal conversion engine, which is why it gets converted twice with the fix.

    Because there are still things that can go wrong when the second step starts, dvd catalyst currently does not remove the tmp file automatically. This will be done in the final release though.

    For most video conversions, the 2step (fix) conversion isn't needed though, only some camera's.
  19. mrtoto54660
    Offline

    mrtoto54660 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    The beta is working great for me. No issues what so ever.

    Thanks Again!
  20. dvdcatalyst
    Online

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    Thank you,

    I'm glad to hear the beta is working great for you.

    ALmost final. Been working on the manual all week.
Search tags for this page

dvd catalyst 4 skip stuck skip button

,

dvd catalyst reset settings

,

how to reset dvd catalyst

,

reset dvd catalyst settings

,

why do avi files fail on droid3