Dumb newbie question: Up/downloading files to pc

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by ndoren, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. ndoren

    ndoren Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ok, this is so obvious a question, but I'm clueless.

    What's the easiest way to get MP3 files to my SD card, as well as avi movies? Similarly, what's the best way to download photos from Android to PC? I don't want to remove the memory card... is there a way to sync either via USB cable or bluetooth to my PC? Is there a desktop manager for the PC? Thanks.
     
  2. NvrEnough

    NvrEnough Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newark CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes u can sync through the USB cable. Just drag the songs you want to the sd card or vice versa PC to SD card.

    What operating system are you using?
     
  3. ndoren

    ndoren Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm running both linux and Windows XP. I am sure linux will see the device as a mountable storage device, if XP does.
     
  4. txskeets

    txskeets Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just connect it to my PC and then bring down the home screen from the top (where it shows your connections, time, etc, choose the USB connection and choose mount. Then it shows up as a 'removeable drive' on your pc that you can click on and move files all around. I've made directories for ringtones, videos, notifications, etc and that is where I put the respective files so they will show up in the 'list' when I want to choose them.
     
  5. Tommyd1

    Tommyd1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Detroit Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have windows XP. When I plugged my USB cord into my computer, with the phone attached the first time, it said we have discovered new hardware, then when I clicked on the icon in my tray, it said the hardware could not be found.

    Now when I try it again, it only say's it's safe to remove the devise.

    I would like to download the pictures from my phone into my computer.

    What can I do ???
     
  6. txskeets

    txskeets Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe by default the pictures you take on the phone, save to the SD card in the DCIM directory. See my steps above for mounting the phone on the computer (I had the same thing with the hardware could not be found issue) and once you get the phone mounted you should be able to get to your pictures and the hardware not found issue wont be an issue.
     
  7. Tommyd1

    Tommyd1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Detroit Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    txskeet - thanks, that worked :icon_ banana:

    Thank God for this forum, I'll probably get pretty good with this phone a lot quicker than I would have on my own.
     
  8. txskeets

    txskeets Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem, always glad to help! :)
     
  9. BoiseEd

    BoiseEd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's that connecting part that's giving me trouble. With the USB cable, I plugged into my MacBook Pro once, tried to copy something to the Droid, and apparently disconnected too soon (because the copied file wasn't usable). Trying to connect again, now the Mac doesn't register the connection. The phone says "Droid" in that annoying robotic voice, but nothing on the Mac. I even tried rebooting the Mac, to no avail. What do I need to reset?

    BTW, txskeets, I love your Horns icon.
     
Similar Threads
  1. DracoZaroff
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    634
  2. jbangert
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,802
  3. martytoo
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    723
  4. clarc31
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    625
  5. Redalert
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    826
Loading...
Search tags for this page
how to download pictures from lg vortex to macbool pro compu
,
how to transfer files from lg vortex to mac
,
how to upload pictures from lg vortex to computer
,

lg vortex upload photos

,
motorola vortex importing files from computer
,
motorola vortex importing photo files from computer network
,
transfer photos from lg vortex to mac
,
transfert pictures from lg vortex to pc
,
upload pics from lg 3680 to macbook pro