1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Dual Booting Rom

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by mmurphyj93, Jan 13, 2011.

  1. mmurphyj93
    Offline

    mmurphyj93 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've heard of it being done on a G1 but is it possible on a D1? Id love to be able to check out all the rom betas without losing my daily rom.

    :)

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  2. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Just make a nandroid backup prior to loading the new rom. Then once you have the new rom the way you want it, make a nandroid backup of it. Repeat as desired. I routinely have two roms with nandroid backups on my phone and switch between the two as the mood strikes me. Good luck and have fun.
  3. yakitori
    Offline

    yakitori Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    thats different than a dual booting rom. I have not heard of the D1 being capable of doing this.

    As in...option at bootup to pick which ROM you wish to boot into...and switch ROMS by a soft reboot....this is different than restoring nandroids.
  4. doublea500
    Offline

    doublea500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dont know much about this stuff but heres what i think could get in the way of that. the d1 doesnt have much memory... with ud i have only like 13mb left on my system thats not used
  5. kr0n
    Offline

    kr0n New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I remember reading a post on XDA a month or so ago that had a method of dual booting. It was risky though, and seemed like was way too much hassle/risk compared to just making a nandroid backup