Droid Sync with Exchange 2003

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by jjbard, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. jjbard
    Offline

    jjbard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I picked up my Droid this morning and I cannot for the life of me get it to properly sync with Exchange Server 2003. When I finally get it to accept all of my settings and I go to the email icon, instead of seeing my emails, I get a black screen (with the exception of the status, battery, clock, etc...bar at the top). Below the top bar, there's a lighter gray bar and to the right of it, there is a little spinning circle which sort of suggests that it's doing something, or syncing but it's been that way forever now. The rest of the screen in just black. I can back out of this screen and go back into it no problem. The corporate calendar is not syncing and neither are my corporate contacts. I've pulled the battery and tried again, same problem. I've spent 40 minutes on the phone with Moto support, useless exercise.

    Anyone else running into this? Everything else about the phone seems fine.

    Support gave up and suggested I get a replacement phone! LOL
  2. djidji
    Offline

    djidji New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have the same exact problem with exchange 2007. the setup was super easy but now all i see is black screen with the little "circle" in the upper right. every now and then i see another item that says "Refresh". but when i click on it again i get a black screen with the little "circle" rotating...
  3. indygreg
    Offline

    indygreg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Me too

    Same thing. I am also an exchange admin for my company . . . I have setup everything with our system.

    It is logging it to some extent, as if you put in the wrong info, like a password, it will reject it. Do it all right and it is just a blank screen. Ugh. I am currently using the demo of the touchdown product to get work email. I am hoping to find an answer soon.
  4. jjbard
    Offline

    jjbard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, as frustrating as it is, I feel better knowing I'm not the only one experiencing this.
    I'll need to come up with a work-around for now too since the blackberry has been turned off...

    Here's to hoping we find a solution soon!
  5. indygreg
    Offline

    indygreg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it appears that the issue is it does not work with Exchange servers that require a security PIN on mobile devices (FYI, this is required for admins to be able to remote wipe the phone, which is VERY common a requirement). The Palm pre was this way out of the gate too and they got killed. they fixed it in about 1 month. I am sure google will fix this, but it is a HUGE oversight to release it like this.
  6. sgoldwa
    Offline

    sgoldwa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK - a follow-up question

    I am a nerdie kind of guy who runs my own SBS 2003 server (including Exchange 2003). So I have no issues tweaking the server settings. Where do I tweak the setting the disables the PIN requirement?
    Thanks in advance.
  7. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Well i kinda red a lot that u guys need to pay extra on VW to use exchange sync. Speaking off a blackberry, a Blackberry enterprise server (BES) was needed to push exchange mails. Maybe problem lays somewhere in there!
  8. sgoldwa
    Offline

    sgoldwa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not really

    BES software running on top of Exchange Server is what is needed to have push email to a Blackberry. Native Exchange Server does push email and has for at least a couple of years without anything needing to run on top of it, so far as I know...
  9. sgoldwa
    Offline

    sgoldwa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    PIN is not the problem

    After looking into my own Exchange Server 2003, I can tell you the the PIN is not the problem. I have that box UNCHECKED (so that a PIN was not enforced), and I am still having the same issue as everyone else.

    I wonder if it has something to do with installing certificates on the Droid.

    Anybody else want to chime in?
  10. djidji
    Offline

    djidji New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    any chance you can look at your server logs to see if requests are being made and if any error are showing? i use hosted exchange so i don't really have that level access to exchange...

    Edit:
    BES is definitely not a requirement. i do believe OWA is required.
  11. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    I have no issues connecting and receiving mail... I just can't view attachments.

    Try checking the "accept all cert" option.
  12. obsid
    Offline

    obsid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I too have the exact same problem!

    I can sync my exchange calender, but email just shows a blank black screen (like there are no messages that it finds). But it shows the little spinning cirlce in the upper right corner (like it is doing something). I put in a support ticket with verizon (which I believe is talking to motorola).

    PS. it doesnt work even with the "accept all cert" enabled.
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2009
  13. djidji
    Offline

    djidji New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Delete the account and re-create it. It worked for me although I am still having a problem with syncing the calendar.
  14. MAPB
    Offline

    MAPB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same issue with the black screen and it doesn't seem the calendar connects either. Hope someone comes up with the solution!!
  15. jjbard
    Offline

    jjbard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No resolution here yet either. "accept all certs" doesn't fix and the pin requirement is not selected on our server. I ended up downloading the trial of Touchdown to hold me over for a few days anyway.
  16. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    Ok, I just resolved the viewing attachment issue, under account settings I unchecked the box for "Use secure connection (ssl) now I can view all attachments just fine.

    I hope this works for the rest of you.
  17. ironman77
    Offline

    ironman77 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the droid my self today and was having problems with my exchange email set, I figured out that if you use the physcial keyboard once in exchange server setting you in the first box displayed domain/username it must be the domain example: ag/1234gf
    the tricky thing is that you have to locate the / and its not a physical key only way to get it to display is alt key followed by symbol key which pops up a virtual keypad and the / symbol is displayed. once you have done this enter your password and exchange server address and hit the next key, now your are ready to sync your exchange email and contacts. Sorry for lengthy explanation hope this helps....
  18. tgt
    Offline

    tgt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Encountering the same issue. I also agree the likely cause is the required PIN that DROID can't handle. Here's to hoping for a quick fix!

    Calendar downloads fine on my end... No contact/e-mail however.

    -tgt
  19. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    read the whole thread, there are some things that fix this... :)
  20. cgaliffi
    Offline

    cgaliffi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    And I thought I was the only one having problems with this!:mad:
Search tags for this page
allow non provisionable devices exchange 2003
,
android email app exchange 2003
,
android email exchange 2003
,
android exchange 2003 calendar
,
android incredible not sync to exchange 2003
,
connect android to exchange 2003
,
droid x2 exchange 2003 error not compatible with
,
excahnge server 2003 connected to bes but cannot get eactive
,

exchange 2003 android

,

exchange 2003 droid

,
exchange 2003 droid razr m verizon
,
how to sync android with exchange server 2003
,
no html on droid using exchange 2003
,
ports needed to sync andriod to exchange server 2003
,
windows sbs 2003 exchange not decoding base64 android