DROID Messages

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by benwiggin2, Dec 6, 2009.

  1. benwiggin2
    Offline

    benwiggin2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DROID messageing- WTF? When I compose a message, the 1st field is "To:" When I begin to add a contact with the virt keyboard, I begin to type the name of the contact I would like to message. DROID then transposes the letters I am typing into numbers. I don't know anyones number by heart, yet that seems to be the only way that I can add a contact to my message. Anyone else having messaging issues?
  2. hvymtlman
    Offline

    hvymtlman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    kailua, hawaii
    when i want to send a message, i got to contacts and find the person i want to message and click the message icon. it's pretty fast.
  3. benwiggin2
    Offline

    benwiggin2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A lot of times I want to forward a message that I have received, and that's when you need to add contact into the "To:" field.
  4. mcm180
    Offline

    mcm180 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nyc
    its converting the letters to numbers like on the phone keypad

    I've heard making sure your contacts have a 1 before their # helps... in addition to making sure their number is saved as "mobile"
  5. gardobus
    Offline

    gardobus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,973
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    I haven't had this problem unless the letters I hit don't match any contacts, THEN it puts the number in. I'd check what mcm180 mentioned, make sure your contacts have the cell phone number in Mobile because it may not look at Home and whatnot.
  6. medicTHREE
    Offline

    medicTHREE New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Replace the default messaging app with handcent sms. It is better all around.
  7. benwiggin2
    Offline

    benwiggin2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Made the change to "mobile", seem to have workED, but no longer.

    I read a bunch of Handcent reviews in the marketplace, and based on them, decided not to try it. Maybe I should, nothing to lose. There is much discussion re messaging w/ DROID, hopefully the OTA upgrade will address this. Bberry messaging is far superior.
  8. 928Droid
    Offline

    928Droid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,753
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western North Carolina Mountains
    On the native app when I do it I get the drop box with the transposed number AND the Contact Name (or names) matching the first few letters I type just below that. I tap the name and go, works just as it should IMHO.

    For example, I type "De" and the drop box shows "de(33) and just below is shows "Debbie Mobile (xxx-xxxxxxx). I tap the name and off I go, don't see the problem on mine.

    Same thing if I start with the phone number, once I start with the numbers the contacts matching the digits appear. Can't see how it will get any better than that...well maybe if it read my mind, is this coming in the next upgrade? :)
  9. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    What did you hear about handcent that made you not try it? I use it, and love it. It's about 100 times better then the stock messenger app. You can customize a heck of alot more, and so far i haven't had any problems with it. It also has the option to break up SMS's that go over 160 characters. Very helpful for us on verizon.
  10. benwiggin2
    Offline

    benwiggin2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Since I have made sure that the contact I am trying to message has contact number saved as "mobile", the phone now recognizes contact, however; now, even though I have verified the mobile number, with 1 particular contact, message fails with error mesage "you have entered an invalid address" :icon_ deal::icon_ nono::cus:. Hope to get this quirk sorted out.
  11. benwiggin2
    Offline

    benwiggin2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They were the user reviews in the "market". I will dload & try!
  12. Hawks
    Offline

    Hawks New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use Handecent and I think its great. It took a couple of trys to get use to it but once I did I think its awesome
  13. benwiggin2
    Offline

    benwiggin2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    d loaded and using! One thing I noticed was, I was truying to send pix I took w/ DROID, message never went through. Same pic sending with Handcent, notification comes up saying "resizing picture", and then it gets sent successfully. Anyway, seems to be working now. :icon_ banana::icon_ banana:
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2009
  14. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I begin to type in the "To:" field... i.e. D-r-.... 'Drew' will show up... I'll click on his name and it'll add his phone number to the "To:" field (it shows his number, 10 digits, not his name) and adds a comma for adding another contact.

    I can't replicate the problem mentioned in this thread.
  15. benwiggin2
    Offline

    benwiggin2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I imagine that all of your imported contacts numbers were listed as mobile #'s then.
  16. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, some contacts have multiple but I wouldn't attempt to send a text to a land line anyway :)
  17. benwiggin2
    Offline

    benwiggin2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Isn't there an app for that??:eek:
  18. Uzay
    Offline

    Uzay New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Deleting default messaging app

    I've downloaded Handcent SMS and I love it. How do you delete the default messaging app?
Search tags for this page
android you have entered an invalid address
,
chad141fa
,
chad141fa driod
,
droid i message
,

droid message

,
droid message forum
,

droid messages

,
droid messaging
,
droid shows 1 message but cant find it
,
droid you have entered an invalid address
,
invalid recipient cant send sms
,
invalid reciptent message on droid phone
,
music visualizer for android
,
samsung galaxy s you have entered an invalid address
,

you have entered an invalid address android