Droid Google Voice Setup

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by droijo, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. droijo

    droijo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Setting up Google Voice, it asks to dial a provisioning code *71googlevoicenumber when setting up the Voice app on the droid.

    Now, It keeps going to a dead tone and then hangs up. Is this what is supposed to happen? I tested it out and received phone calls from that number fine and voicemail to that number.
     
  2. sst45jeff

    sst45jeff Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +59
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    yes it is. read through the setup process again. you skimmed a little to fast.
     
  3. dieselbmw

    dieselbmw Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also have in another post asking which Google Voice I should choose regarding minutes and that. I want a new number but if my friends and family call it I do not want...(me or them)...to be charged usage minutes. That is my deciding factor. Here is my other. post http://www.droidforums.net/forum/motorola-droid/11807-google-voice-66.html#post555902 :motdroidhoriz::reddroid:
    Thank you all!


    hmm maybe one will get an invite.
     
  4. droijo

    droijo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Then why is it every time I go into the voicemail settings on the Droid, it always asks me to configure the phone. Do I have to dial it everytime? Then, it says "No changes were made" when I click ok.

    How am I supposed to edit the voicemail greetings and everything?
     
    #4 droijo, Jun 16, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2010
  5. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,993
    Likes Received:
    768
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +934
    I have always had issues with that set-up. Re-run a few times and click and change a few times in call settings.

    Eventually it sticks and works fine.
     
  6. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    As long as the voicemail is GV you're set.

    If you have a thread already why are you threadjacking this one? :confused:

    Voicemail is never a phone feature. It's either a carrier or third party feature. You change greetings and settings by calling your voicemail (unless your voicemail provider offers some other alternatives - e.g. the Google Voice web site).
     
    #6 takeshi, Jun 16, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2010
Search tags for this page
google voice andriod provisioning code verizon
,
google voice provisioning
,

google voice provisioning code verizon

,

google voice special provisioning code

,
provisional code for google voice
,
setup google voice on droid turbo
,
setup google voice provisioning code
,
voicemail on droid razr no changes were made