Droid Bionic 9.905 Update

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by iTz_I3urn, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. iTz_I3urn
    Online

    iTz_I3urn Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, I really want to install the new update for my bionic. But i try to and once i do a manual update it starts verifying the updated then says "aborted". Can someone post a link thats has the full zip package please. Thanks
     
  2. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    The file that's floating around is the only one out there, it's the exact same .zip file that the OTA consists of. Is your phone running BONE STOCK 5.9.902? It's alright if you're rooted, but if you've removed any bloatware, themed, or otherwise modded the OS the OTA will not install.

    If you are stock, it's possible that the file got corrupted during download, in that case try downloading it again.
     
  3. iTz_I3urn
    Online

    iTz_I3urn Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I have modded the boot screen logo. So if i restore my phone with a back up i made from the standard stock (un tampered) can i flash it and possibly get it that way?
     
  4. iTz_I3urn
    Online

    iTz_I3urn Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    No its not the bone stock can u help me get back to normal stock but still have root?
     
  5. DunDun
    Offline

    DunDun Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Don't worry Motofail will root that device if you loose root.

    Sent from my awesome, "rooted", artificially intelligent device using Tapatalk 2
     
  6. dmagalhaes
    Offline

    dmagalhaes New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    downloaded the update, but I am rooted and have some apps frozen
    Update failed, do I have to un freeze the apps to update?
    will this work if I am rooted?
    Thanks in advance
     
  7. Underwater Mike
    Offline

    Underwater Mike Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No offense intended, but if you can't get back to stock on your own with all the guides floating around, you probably should not be flashing leaked updates.
     
  8. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    I'm not rooted, but I believe you can install while rooted. You will have to unfreeze the apps though, and get as close to stock as possible.

    If you lose root, you can get it back.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2012
  9. Mamba94
    Offline

    Mamba94 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    That should work, as long as nothing has been modified.
     
  10. Bionic_Kasso
    Offline

    Bionic_Kasso New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I recently updated my bionic to. 905 a couple days ago...and my 4G seems to drop ALOT now.
    When I go on the browser or open an app that requires data (like Facebook) 4G symbol goes white and then disappears.
    Its super annoying, seeing that I'm in a 4G coverage area.
    Could this be a Verizon bug or are others experiencing the same?
     
  11. sargentmajord
    Offline

    sargentmajord Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2,195
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +16
    Freezing does not cause install failure this is a common misconception I install updates with frozen bloat I have created a thread on the proper steps to install updates in the bionic general discussions forum the edited boot animation is the cause of the failure
     
  12. jayman350
    Offline

    jayman350 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lowell, Ma
    Ratings:
    +18
    oh if only everyone would follow this advice. if you are having problems with flashing something, but don't understand how/why you are supposed to do it, chances are you should do one of two things 1.) Do more research until you completely understand what you are about to do or 2.) leave your phone as-is and don't screw with it.

    this is a great community who is willing to help those in need...as long as YOU are willing to put in at least as much work to figure out what you did wrong. Don't expect people to give you a special write up b/c you can't be bothered to read through the tutorials that are already available.
     
  13. matjmonk
    Offline

    matjmonk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central VA
    Ratings:
    +4
    Here's something that I read somewhere (maybe here, maybe eclipserom.com) that I tried and it helped my data drop situation:

    1. Power down phone
    2. Remove back cover, remove battery, remove SD card and remove SIM card (plastic card below SD card)
    3. Replace battery and leave the other two items removed
    4. Power up phone and let it fully boot, it will eventually tell you that you have no data and can only make emergency calls.
    5. Power down phone
    6. Remove battery, replace SIM card, replace SD card, replace battery and replace back cover
    7. Power phone on and allow it to boot up fully after it has done that it should re-register itself to the network

    I did this early Sunday morning and I have not seen a data drop since then. This doesn't work for everyone, but it's fairly quick and easy and might just help.


    Cheers
     
  14. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    You shouldn't have to remove the SD Card; the SIM card can be removed without taking the SD card out and isn't necessary in the proceedure.

    One thing to add; be sure to put the sim card back in correctly or you could fry the card. I did that one time and put the card in backwards. When I powered up and got the "No SIM Card" message I realized my mistake, powered down and put it in correctly. It worked, but I only got 3G, even in places where I have strong 4G. I went to a Verizon store, told them what I did and they replaced the sim card at no charge.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012
  15. luvmybionic
    Offline

    luvmybionic New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    need some help

    I just found out yesterday about all these updates after calling Verizon cuz my 4g kept dropping. The v guy tells me they will send it to my phone sometime but don't know when to just keep trying. After looking at these post I see that some ppl in Indiana already have it so am I not getting it because something is wrong with my phone or do I need ti do anything else. I know my phone is rooted and im running the 902 by don't know my more. Sorry im a little tech dumb when it comes to these things.
     
Search tags for this page
bionic will not update
,
bionic wont update
,
droid bionic will not update
,

droid bionic wont update

,
how to update my droid bionic
,
my droid bionic wont update
,
rooted bionic wont update
,
rooted droid bionic wont update
,
why wont my bionic update
,
why wont my droid bionic update