droid and viruses

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by droidism, Nov 17, 2009.

  1. droidism
    Offline

    droidism New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    connecticut
    I was just scrolling through the market and came across some virus protectors and scanners. is the droid suseptible to viruses or malware?
    thanks for the info...:motdroidhoriz:
  2. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Hey,

    we had this couple of toimes here (the search function couldve been of help ;) )

    I think there is NO NEED for anti-virus software. Android is a rather young Linux derivate. As known, there r virusses vor linux and they DO occur, but not as often as for Windows or Windows Mobile. So, if you use your BRAIN (brain.exe version 5.0!) and dont click on unknown links/sites or install apps from unknown sources and stuff, there weill be nooooo neeed for anti-virus programms!
  3. garrett
    Offline

    garrett New Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    to write a virus for anything on a linux platform is extremely hard as the virus would need root access to do just about anything. As new as this platform is and nobody has figured out how to root it yet i highly doubt there is anything out there.
  4. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Totally agree on garrett here,
    though i know that it is just a matter of time to gain root access to an open sourced system, but as i said....USE YOUR BRAINS!
  5. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,630
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    I agree with those statements, in my sticky on security i was trying to point out that while this system alone may not have much threat against it right now, that may not be the case in the future. No system is 100% safe. Right now the system is so new and the ability to root it has not come out to my knowledge. Just remember to surf safe and be aware.
  6. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Exactly....

    you wouldn click on pc on a link on an email that says "CLECK HERE! INSTANTLY!! GET HOT NAKED CHICKS!!!" ....so why do that on your phone.

    Human awareness is the best anti-virus there is. I always remember my mom called me and said "i got an email from my lawyer. I have to pay 800€!" So i got home and looked at the mail and it said thet the sender was JUST "lawyer" it wasnt even HER lawyer.....

    so you wouldn click on that stuff aye?
  7. Liderc
    Offline

    Liderc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had spyware pop up today telling me to "download their antivrus because my pc was infected!" =P Happened on a very well known site that I and hundreds of thousands of people use every day, so it's possible to get malware on this phone, as they said virus' are harder because root access is needed.
  8. garrett
    Offline

    garrett New Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In a van by the River......

    just an FYI malware only applies to windows PC's and windows based operating systems.

    for malware to work it does require root access.
  9. hughesjr
    Offline

    hughesjr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You did not have a virus on your driod, you had a popup in your web browser designed to have you install an exe file for windows on your computer.

    In this case, that file will not install on the driod (or any linux computer for that matter).

    If a website makes a popup happen via your browser, that does not mean you have anything bad installed on your machine ... even in windows.
Search tags for this page

a pop up that said my droid is infected

,
android charge virus pop up
,
droid razr bad virus
,

how to find a virus on a droid

,
how to find a virus or spyware on my droid phone
,

known droid viruses

,
malware spyware droid bionic
,

motorola droid 2 viruses

,
motorola droid razr virus pop up
,
motorola viruses
,
my droid razr had pop up virus detected
,
my smartphone had a pop up telling me a virus had infected i
,

pop up browserandroid spyware

,
pop up says my phone is infected
,
pop up your android may be infected