Droid 2 Motoblur Facebook app is a pile of steaming Goat poop

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Josefius, Apr 14, 2011.

  1. Josefius
    Offline

    Josefius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +2
    [rant]
    There is no contacts sync option in the official Facebook application for the Droid 2/X (and who knows how many other versions of Motorola with Motoblur)

    This is outrageous. I spent too much time on this, the D1 worked flawlessly. I ended up having to back-up my contacts and purge the contacts cache and reimport for it to allow me to remove the damn facebook users from my contacts. It imports ALL your facebook friends which is stupid. I just want to sync with my current phone contacts. I lost my corporate contacts and my email over this BS, had to resync from a backup.

    Why do I have two Facebook icons in the application manager, one doesn't work (official facebook) and the Moto one has to work separately. Twitter doesn't do this, I'm able to sync just fine with it. Apparently Zuckerberg doesn't use a Motorola Droid with Motoblur, or it would be fixed ASAP. Shameful. [/rant]
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2011
  2. VideoGameMatt
    Offline

    VideoGameMatt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think that is more of an issue with motoblur than facebook
     
  3. Josefius
    Offline

    Josefius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +2
    My Droid 1 Facebook app has the option to Sync contacts, when it's installed on the Droid 2 it doesn't, not sure why. I know it's Motoblur causing the problem, because I am forced to use the Motoblur Facebook sync item to show up in the accounts area, odd that I can use the official Twitter app and not the official Facebook app.
     
  4. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    Download Facebook from the market, you can sync contacts in it.
     
  5. Josefius
    Offline

    Josefius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +2
    I did, doesn't show up in options.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  6. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    Go to contacts > hit menu key > accounts, it should have your facebook and gmail + whatever else you have logged to your phone. Click the facebook one and check Sync Contacts.
     
  7. Josefius
    Offline

    Josefius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +2
    Did that too, doent add it, even tried logging out of the official one and logging in via that menu. All it does it go to facebook instead of adding to the sync list.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  8. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    Try unsyncing, restarting, then syncing?
     
  9. Josefius
    Offline

    Josefius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +2
    I see no option to do that from menu > options > accounts.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  10. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    uncheck the sync, restart your phone then when its rebooted check the sync again.
     
  11. Josefius
    Offline

    Josefius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +2
    The only one I can add is the Moto facebook, there are two Facebook icons, one is the Moto one, the other is the one I downloaded from the google app store made by Facebook, that one doesn't get added, no matter what I do.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  12. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thats just odd..... Ive never had any problems out of mine. Sorry i cant help you =/
     
  13. Josefius
    Offline

    Josefius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +2
    Was that on a Droid 2? Because, I would very much like to fix this.
     
  14. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    d2g, basically the same phone. Only real difference is the GSM radio as well as the CDMA one.
     
  15. Josefius
    Offline

    Josefius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +2
    After I'm logged into the official facebook from the appstore, I try to add the official app, and it just refreshes the screen without showing the dialog box. :icon_evil:

    When I log out, I try to add to the list via that icon and it asks me to login, but just goes straight to facebook. When I go to the facebook options, there is no sync with contacts like it used to have in the old one below the help area on the bottom. I have no clue why this is, but if there's a way to fix it I would love an answer.

    By the way, my D2 version is:

    Android version: 2.2
    Kernel: 2.6.32.9-ga42712e dbretzm1@il93lnxdroid22 #1
    ERI version: 5
    PRL version: 52280
     
Search tags for this page

apps for pile of poop

,

facebook app motoblur

,

poop symbol on droid x2