Droid 2 Global Unboxing PICS

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by r314bd, Nov 10, 2010.

  1. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got my Droid 2 Global this morning :) As expected, pretty much identical to the Droid 2 except for the SIM card slot.
  2. UNC
    Offline

    UNC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Awesome dude. Is it Vanilla? Or Ninjablurred?
  3. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,090
    Likes Received:
    744
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I'd really like to see the white one....thanks for the pics!
  4. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,811
    Likes Received:
    1,247
    Trophy Points:
    113
    same phone and o.s I believe, just o.c. and has a sim card.
  5. UNC
    Offline

    UNC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    I don't think it's overclocked, and I'm pretty sure that all the enterprise stuff forces it to be a somewhat different OS....
  6. msu
    Offline

    msu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    Wished mine got here today... :( Have to wait till tomorrow
  7. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,811
    Likes Received:
    1,247
    Trophy Points:
    113
    yeah i posted some vids...I want that profiles option.
  8. danDroid
    Offline

    danDroid DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,350
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Will this phone be capable of 3G speeds over AT&T?

  9. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think so? AT&T 3G uses the 850 MHz and 1900 MHz bands and the D2 Global is Tri–Band UMTS/HSPA – 850/1900/2100MHz
  10. IslesFan
    Offline

    IslesFan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY

    I tried doing a Network Scan on my Droid 2 Global, expecting to see ATT 3G on the scan, but no dice. Can you try it on yours?
  11. pbarch1
    Offline

    pbarch1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ordered a white one, should be here by 3:00 PST I'll post pics
  12. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No luck on mine either :(
  13. IslesFan
    Offline

    IslesFan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Wireless & Network Settings ->Mobile networks -> Operator Selection

    (might need to change Network Mode to GSM/UMTS for duration of scan)
  14. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, nothing came up for me either. I'm assuming it has to do with the SIM slot being locked. Just called VZW Global Support and they didn't have the unlock codes for the D2 Global yet. Booo. I found some services online that will get you Motorola Milestone unlock codes, so it's a longshot but I might try that.
  15. IslesFan
    Offline

    IslesFan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Did they give any idea on how long til they get unlock codes? I'll pop in a friend's ATT sim once I can unlock mine.
  16. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just called back and got a different rep who was super friendly...she spent probably a good 10-15 minutes checking for the codes but eventually realized that the code generator for the device wasn't available yet...BUT she asked when I was going abroad (end of this month) so she's calling me back in two weeks, hopefully with better news.

    So for now we are stuck being locked but hopefully there will be progress soon!

    Ok time to attempt to root :p
  17. IslesFan
    Offline

    IslesFan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Who's going to try the original Droid 2's Rooting method?
  18. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Didn't work :(
    I tried both the manual and one-click methods (I've rooted many Droid 1s, one Droid 2, and one Droid X, so I'm very comfortable with adb and such) but they both got stuck halfway in. I'll see if I can find the developers on another forum and ask if they might be able to figure out a workaround.

    Also I just noticed that Google Voice doesn't seem to be available in the Market for this phone. Hmm.

    No root, missing apps from the market, no unlock codes...sheesh. This is the problem with being the first batch to have a phone...you end up having to deal with all the kinks :p

    EDIT: Nevermind about Google Voice, just found the QR code and scanned it in, silly me
  19. UNC
    Offline

    UNC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Motoblur, ninjablur, or vanilla?!?! I must know!!
  20. r314bd
    Offline

    r314bd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What's the difference exactly? It's definitely got one of the blurs
Search tags for this page

motorola droid 2 global sim card slot