Does the Droid X have a 3630 or 3640 CPU?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by Jaxidian, Jul 3, 2010.

  1. Jaxidian

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Ratings:
    +0
    Something I've been wondering...

    Does the Droid X have an OMAP3630 or an OMAP3640 CPU in it? Not that it makes a whole lot of difference, but I'm curious.

    According to most rumors and even this (leaked?) "official" spec sheet, it's a 3630. However, as we've seen, Verizon's PR has already screwed up when defining what CPU is in the device on more than one occasion.

    I cannot find any right now but I have seen some reviews swear up and down that it's the 3640 and not the 3630. I suspect it's based on this Wikipedia page.

    Lastly, there's this discussion where people seem confident that it's the 3630, but I'm still challenging the claim rather than assuming they're right. Ultimately, I think the one person is right though: we'll never notice the difference. :icon_ banana:

    Anybody else have anything conclusive on this topic?
     
  2. dangerous

    dangerous Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Motorola guy giving the Demo said 3630..
     
  3. Dark_Jedi

    Dark_Jedi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Blytheville, AR
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes, i believe it is 3630 as well..
     
  4. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    I woulda believed 3640 based on that wiki page too. According to the Moto Dev site its 3630-1000. Thats all we got so far.
     
    #4 jroc, Jul 3, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2010
  5. opcenter

    opcenter New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The official model number I've seen thrown around is 3630-1000.
     
  6. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've seen both in multiple places. The 3630 is supposed to max out at 720 mhz while the 3640 is 1ghz. It would seem strange if the X is using the 3630 being OCed to 1ghz, but I really have no idea. I HOPE it's the 3640.
     
  7. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    Unofficially, a guy on howardforums.com mentioned the 3630 used memory better than the 3640? If thats the case, they either overclocked it to a stable 1Ghz or made a revision of the 3630 that runs at 1Ghz.

    The current Snapdragon, QSD 8650, has a recent revision called QSD 8650 A. It runs at 1.3Ghz and is a 45nm chip. Maybe T.I. made a revision.
     
    #7 jroc, Jul 3, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2010
  8. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good to know. Hopefully Motorola will clear this up soon.
     
  9. Jaxidian

    Jaxidian Team FreeMyMoto
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is exactly what TI did when going from the OMAP3430 to the OMAP3630, from my reading. The difference is that the 3430 was 65nm while the 3630 is at 45nm, hence the reason it's faster. As such, the GPU, while being the same GPU, should also be able to be faster. And perhaps they threw in more memory, I forget now. But simply because of the smaller process and no other changes, the 3630 > 3430 simply because of less power which, directly translated to non-tech people, means either they can turn up the speed on it and/or we save power from our batteries without making any other changes. It's kinda like throwing a 1-pound baseball or a 1-pound volleyball - you can probably throw that baseball much further because it's smaller (yeah, a gross bastardization comparing aerodynamics to power, but it works pretty well here).
     
Search tags for this page

ti omap3630-1000

,
what kind of processor does android have
,
what processor does my droid x has
,
what processor does the droidx use