Does the 512mb of RAM affect the ability of the Motorola Droid?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by AlphaDroid, Nov 13, 2009.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. AlphaDroid
    Offline

    AlphaDroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've heard/read that the Motorola Droid only has 512mb of RAM and a 16gb storage device.

    Is this correct? Was this a good/bad idea?

    Does this have a negative effect for the owner and how does this effect the Droid if you were to compare it to the Iphone 3gs and it's storage...?

    I may be stating the terms improperly but if you understand the principle of the questions, that is what is important. Is this 512mb thing a bad idea? Should have it been more?

    Your comments please?
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2009
  2. tensai
    Offline

    tensai New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    xv6700to8330toDROID
    Ratings:
    +0
    well.... on a fresh boot with no apps running i get about 125MB used which is 55% of avail memory. i havent tried to overload it with open apps, i will though to see how it runs still, but honestly i think they should of bumped it up to adleast 768 of memory.
  3. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hey, well i never read about RAM size by now. but on my STORM i only have like 50MB Ram anyways. and for the SD card...well u can run "Damn Small Linux" (DSL) on a 256MB usb flash....so why not a bit bigger one on 16GB ? ^^

    I think having an ARM processor and enuf ram should set the phone ready to be an iBeast slayer i think. but gotta research on that 512mb ram it sounds lill high to my old ears!


    Tigger
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2009
  4. AlphaDroid
    Offline

    AlphaDroid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you translate what you said into simple, non computer geek language please? I can't understand what you are saying.
  5. Wrenbjor
    Offline

    Wrenbjor Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dont worry about it. The performance of the device wont be an issue, It really is just the amount of space you have for apps. Out of the 512mb ~256mb are used for the android os and the rest is free for app storage. Once the droid gets rooted (Search the forums to find out what that is) then you can install an app that will let you put apps on the external 16gb card if ou choose, there are risks to doing that.

    ** Tech note, sure once you max out the 512mb I'm sure there might be a small performance hit just like in any computer system that has a full root partition, but for the laman lets just go with "not an issue" **
  6. RosarioM
    Offline

    RosarioM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Supposedly Google is working on a official fix that will allow you to install apps directly on the SD card. This is a going to be required given that with all the Droid phones being sold, the MarketPlace is going to get a lot more developers and as a result, people will install more apps and need the extra storage.
  7. the3dolla
    Offline

    the3dolla Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    wrong..

    There is only 256MB or RAM and there is 512 is ROM, although it's not really read only..

    I have a good amount of APPS installed and have 156MB or ROM free..
  8. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Ratings:
    +2
    LoL ...im so sorry..sometimes working in IT and admin stuff every day makes me forget the "normal user"

    What i just said was, RAM will be enough i think and the 16GB SD card should be ok!

    Dont worry man :icon_ banana:
Search tags for this page
512mb ram affect
,
do 16 gb card work well in 512 ram of android
,

how does ram affect mobile phones

,

how does ram affect phone performance

,
is 512 m b ram good enough for a smart phone
,

is 512mb good for cell phone

,
is there any bad effect on expand ram in android
,

what affects is the ram on a cell phone

,
what is the bad thing in 512 mb
,

will 512mb ram affect performance