Do I need MotoPrint on my computer?

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by tjk629, Sep 19, 2011.

  1. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    I'm a little confused if I need MotoPrint on my computer or not. I have a WiFi printer and the Bionic seems to connect to it just fine. So Do I need to have the software on my computer or is that just for printers that don't have WiFi?
  2. ConqSoft
    Offline

    ConqSoft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Not needed if you're already connected and working.
  3. nitrap
    Offline

    nitrap New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    MotoPrint is only needed if your phone can't find your printers (my case). I installed MotoPrint on one my computers and it worked perfectly. The Bionic found the MotoPrint host and was able to print to any printer configured on the host machine.
  4. dannyro
    Offline

    dannyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Stupid question but I am sorry; how do you connect the Bionic to your WiFi Printer without the software?
  5. ConqSoft
    Offline

    ConqSoft New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,059
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    You just connect the Bionic to your home WiFi network, run MotoPrint, search for Printer, and it finds it if it's one of the compatible ones. If it's not, you have to install the PC MotoPrint Software where the printer is connected so be able to access it.
  6. crxlvr
    Offline

    crxlvr New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have a printer from like 20 years ago but it is a good multifunction unit from lexmark. is there anyway i can set up motoprint to work with this?
  7. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I believe it only works with WIFI printers.

    Sent from my Droid 3 directly to YOU!
  8. nitrap
    Offline

    nitrap New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
  9. mikedav1
    Offline

    mikedav1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly PA
    I have it on my phone only. As long as you are on the same wifi network as your printer (the computer that is connected to the printer is using wifi) it will work. I have a new printer on machine and an old ink jet on another and I can connect and print to both.
  10. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for reply. I didn't need it after all!
  11. dannyro
    Offline

    dannyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so I downloaded the Motoprint software and installed it, and when I try to connect it to my PC (it finds a MotoPrint Host- my PC name) it wants me to enter a user name and password. Honestly, I dont know what the heck it wants because I dont use a logon with Windows, its at home and I'm the only one who uses the computer. I tried entering no logon and it keeps saying invalid logon. What the heck does it want from me in the case of user name and password????
Search tags for this page
cant print from my droid bionic
,
host motoprint pc
,
how do i install motoprint on my phone
,

how to set up motoprint

,
how to setup motoprint
,
is motoprint able to work with a samsung printer
,
motoprint compatible printers
,

motoprint pc host

,

motoprint setup

,
what app do i need for an s4 to connect to wifi printer