Do I need MotoPrint on my computer?

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by tjk629, Sep 19, 2011.

  1. tjk629

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,035
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    Hello,

    I'm a little confused if I need MotoPrint on my computer or not. I have a WiFi printer and the Bionic seems to connect to it just fine. So Do I need to have the software on my computer or is that just for printers that don't have WiFi?
     
  2. ConqSoft

    ConqSoft Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +12
    Not needed if you're already connected and working.
     
  3. nitrap

    nitrap New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    MotoPrint is only needed if your phone can't find your printers (my case). I installed MotoPrint on one my computers and it worked perfectly. The Bionic found the MotoPrint host and was able to print to any printer configured on the host machine.
     
  4. dannyro

    dannyro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Stupid question but I am sorry; how do you connect the Bionic to your WiFi Printer without the software?
     
  5. ConqSoft

    ConqSoft Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +12
    You just connect the Bionic to your home WiFi network, run MotoPrint, search for Printer, and it finds it if it's one of the compatible ones. If it's not, you have to install the PC MotoPrint Software where the printer is connected so be able to access it.
     
  6. crxlvr

    crxlvr Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have a printer from like 20 years ago but it is a good multifunction unit from lexmark. is there anyway i can set up motoprint to work with this?
     
  7. Malvado

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    I believe it only works with WIFI printers.

    Sent from my Droid 3 directly to YOU!
     
  8. nitrap

    nitrap New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. mikedav1

    mikedav1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have it on my phone only. As long as you are on the same wifi network as your printer (the computer that is connected to the printer is using wifi) it will work. I have a new printer on machine and an old ink jet on another and I can connect and print to both.
     
  10. tjk629

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,035
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    Thanks for reply. I didn't need it after all!
     
  11. dannyro

    dannyro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok so I downloaded the Motoprint software and installed it, and when I try to connect it to my PC (it finds a MotoPrint Host- my PC name) it wants me to enter a user name and password. Honestly, I dont know what the heck it wants because I dont use a logon with Windows, its at home and I'm the only one who uses the computer. I tried entering no logon and it keeps saying invalid logon. What the heck does it want from me in the case of user name and password????
     
Search tags for this page
cant print from my droid bionic
,
host motoprint pc
,
how do i install motoprint on my phone
,

how to set up motoprint

,
how to setup motoprint
,
is motoprint able to work with a samsung printer
,
motoprint compatible printers
,

motoprint pc host

,

motoprint setup

,
what app do i need for an s4 to connect to wifi printer