Do I Have have to wipe data to install add ons?

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by jkidd16, Dec 28, 2010.

  1. jkidd16
    Offline

    jkidd16 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Am I supposed to wipe cache + data for every thing I install from Fission rom manager such as addons and themes or only when I first start fission? Do I have to wipe my cache if I want to download addons such as "Launcher Pro Gingerbread Theme"? Cuz it would be annoying having to do this everytime I want to install a little thing and not a full on theme? Can someone please tell me when I'm supposed to wipe cache and data and when I dont have to?
     
  2. bookie
    Offline

    bookie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincolnton, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope. Generally you only have to when installing a new rom and sometimes it's necessary to fix bugginess (sure that's a word lol)

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  3. jkidd16
    Offline

    jkidd16 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So for example, if I want to change my Gingerbread theme and install third eye theme I would have to wipe cache and data but not when installing addons?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  4. bookie
    Offline

    bookie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincolnton, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    You shouldn't have to wipe at all unless you're completely changing roms

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  5. jkidd16
    Offline

    jkidd16 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I dont have to wipe data if im installing things from Fission ROM? I only needed to wipe data the first time I used Fission ROM?
     
  6. bookie
    Offline

    bookie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincolnton, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  7. bigfootjumpsuit
    Offline

    bigfootjumpsuit Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am confused as to what to do once the add ons are on my sd card. I downloaded the gingerbread theme and when I go into astro all I can find are a bunch of different folders.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  8. pyro6128
    Offline

    pyro6128 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,517
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    click on it in frm, and move it to the install queue, then go into the install queue and install it
     
Search tags for this page

how to install add ons android

,

when installing a android addon do i need to wipe

,

wipe data and cache for rom.addons

,

wipe data to install theme