Disabling screen lock enabled by Fox Fi set up...help

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR M' started by bigbadwulff, Mar 13, 2014.

  1. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Went to use FoxFi and it now requires a screen lock to be set up(???). I did and now I can't undo it. The choice for "no lock" is grayed out now. Short of a factory reset anyone know of a fix. This really pisses me off!
     
  2. sajokaz

    sajokaz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +304
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Maxx
    From what I read once before, every time you use FoxFi you have to follow it's screen lock protocol. To clear it, try: Settings > Security > Screen Lock > Clear credentials. The Screen lock options should now be select-able. The way I understand it though, every time you use FoxFi you will have to have a screen lock and then follow these steps to clear the screen lock it put in place.
     
  3. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Got it figured out.
    Enter in a pattern screen code(whether you set up another type or not). Enter it in wrong 5 times, then the phone will give you the option to enter your Google account and password. This eliminates any pass code you set up and keeps the certificates for FoxFi.
     
  4. trillonometry

    trillonometry Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great. Yeah they actually explain it on the app description in the Play Store
     
  5. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    That's where I got it. I got so used to descriptions being just crap that I never look at them any more. I decided to read theirs. They seem to be on top of things.
     
  6. sajokaz

    sajokaz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +304
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Maxx
    Thanks for pointing that out, that's good to know. I am not using FoxFi currently, but definitely good to know. That changed at some point because there app page used to state that you had to clear the credentials to remove the lock screen. I'm glad you found a simpler way bigbadwulff.

    How does it work on the M?
     
  7. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Works fine. I rarely use it. Usually to get i-phone users a signal.....ahem :)
     
  8. sajokaz

    sajokaz Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +304
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Maxx
    Cool, thanks. I might have a need for it soon on an upcoming trip.
     
Search tags for this page
forgot credentil password for galaxy s4 fox fi
,
fox fi pattern lock disabled
,

foxfi turns off pattern

,

how to shut off the screen lock on a motorola razr n

,
unable to use pattern lock with foxfi
,
why does foxfi free version keep turning off