Direct Call

naman919

Reaction score
Hopefully you've all heard about the Galaxy S3 feature they touted at the live event that was named "Direct Call." What the feature does is when you receive a text or are in the process of a chat via text message you can hold the phone up to your ear and the phone will call that contact without further input on the user's part. Pretty cool and useful if you ask me. Especially while driving when i don't have time to type out a "i'm driving, call you back" text, even if it is a quick-reply preset message.

I'd like to see how the devs are able to port this feature and if it's a simple feature to create from scratch right now without even seeing the S3's software. Seems like it could be a relatively easy "trick" to implement, but then again i'm not a developer. All I can tell you is that the S3 seems to just use the proximity sensor and then read the contact information in the current thread. Anywho, what's everyone think?

note: I couldn't find a dedicated thread so i thought i would create one. :biggrin:

OP
naman919

naman919

Reaction score
hmm...should this be in the ROM section? i'm shocked no one is talking about this feature. thoughts moderators?

???

Reaction score
I don't really call anyone that texts me. And hand cent has a call button right in the text screen. so yeah it might save one step, but its a pretty easy step haha.

I'd be worried that if I tilted the phone upright or covered the sensor it would call when I didn't want it too. And pretty much every stock text app Ives seen is ugly as hell. so if I got a sg3 I'd most likely run hand cent app anyways.

The changing mat I want thou. As well as the bigger screen and about 3 other things it does

OP
naman919

naman919

Reaction score
no offense, but that was a terribly useless response. many people, myself included, are fans of the stock text app. Handcent looks like a childish version of iOS's messenger client, in my opinion. my point being, to each his/her own.