D2G random reboot by CDMA and GSM, but working fine in airplane mode

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by kaychen, Apr 11, 2011.

  1. kaychen
    Offline

    kaychen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, Can anyone help me to explain why my D2G always random reboot when I using my GSM sim card or CDMA mode, but when I use airplane mode, it will not reboot at all for about 24 hours.
    I had tried to flash all kinds of ROM and SBF, it doesn't work.
    tks in advance.
  2. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Its something that almost if not all Moto phones experience. Most of the time custom roms atleast help with it which means its something to do with conflicts in software. I would suggest trying either Rubix Focused or Liberty 1.5 or 2.0 (both using the GRD ROMer, otherwise you get no service).
  3. kaychen
    Offline

    kaychen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    tks for reply.
    But I had tried Liberty 2.0 with GRD romer v7, the system can not recognize the GSM sim card, if I tried to dial *#*#4636#*#* to set preferred network type to GSM only, the phone reboot!
  4. brickdroid
    Offline

    brickdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thailand
    Having the same problem. Phone reboots when I switch to GSM then reverts to CDMA, which is useless here in Thailand. Any ideas?

    d2g w/ liberty 2.0.1
  5. brickdroid
    Offline

    brickdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thailand
    Got it!... sorta. I'm able to switch to GSM by first disabling WiFi. So both GSM and data work with my foreign SIM! Yay! :icon_ banana:(to set the local APN, I had to open settings using voice dialer: "Open APNs")

    The only problem now is, the phone reboots and switches back to CDMA every time I turn on WiFi. And data is slow and $$ here in Thailand!
Search tags for this page

d2g random reboot on gsm

,

sim card causing reboot in droid 2 global