cpu

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by androidkrazer, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. androidkrazer
    Offline

    androidkrazer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How can I over clock my CPU and under volt my Samsung galaxy s3
  2. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,804
    Likes Received:
    586
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Are you rooted yet?
  3. androidkrazer
    Offline

    androidkrazer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes I am running AOKP 4.2 build 2 and it all seems stable.
  4. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,804
    Likes Received:
    586
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Could've sworn AOKP came with a built in CPU clocker in the settings...

    Well if it doesn't you can use an app like SetCPU
    1 person likes this.
  5. androidkrazer
    Offline

    androidkrazer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am able to access the built in cpu counter but I was seeing places that you can raise the cap to overclock your cpu over the 1.6 ghz limit.
  6. combatmedic870
    Offline

    combatmedic870 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,315
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Portland OR
    If the limit is 1.6 then your going to need a different kernel(if you want a higher clock speed). different kernels have different limits. technically 1.6 is over clocked. Dont go above 1.9ghz, i like 1.7 personally
  7. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,804
    Likes Received:
    586
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Keep in mind that overclocking too high could lead to your phone being unstable (FCs, reboots, buggy, etc.) Each phone reacts differently to different clock speeds. Also keep in mind that overclocking will lead to faster battery drain and you may not notice a real difference in performance between stock and whatever speed you want.

    I personally use the built in clocker to underclock my device sometimes just to stretch battery life a bit more in situations where I won't be near a charger for awhile and it's come in handy many times.
    1 person likes this.
  8. androidkrazer
    Offline

    androidkrazer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I run mine min. . 3 GHz and 1.3 GHz max. Is that good or should I lower my max cpu power?
  9. combatmedic870
    Offline

    combatmedic870 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,315
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Portland OR
    300mhz is a good low and play with the over clock all you want. 1.9 is the max you should really try for a stability
  10. androidkrazer
    Offline

    androidkrazer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So it wont hurt it over time if I just leave max at 1.6 ghz which is the max for this rom
Similar Threads
  1. heavyvino
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    3,516
  2. Bang Pow Boom
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,297
  3. SmegmusMagnus
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,118
  4. prkrastn8
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    518
  5. alboboy10
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    3,759
Loading...
Search tags for this page

how to overclock cpu on galaxy s3 2013

,

limit cpu on galaxy s3