CM6 "Ninja-Mode" pattern lock

Discussion in 'Koush' started by Se7enLC, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Loving CM6rc1 so far. Lots of nice little tweaks. For example, the lockscreen changes let you do a number of things, including:
    - Getting rid of the Carrier (I know it's Verizon, I don't need a constant reminder)
    - Getting rid of the instructions on how to unlock the screen (I know how to unlock my screen!)
    - Getting rid of the visible pattern lock dots, path, and even error messages
    - Adding a custom message that displays a blurb about being GPS tracked and how to return it to me.

    End result - Ninja Pattern Lock!

    [​IMG]

    It's just a blank screen, but if you mentally break it into a 3x3 grid and draw your pattern (with no feedback) it unlocks. The average person probably will not even realize that the screen is locked at all!
  2. icculusX
    Offline

    icculusX Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Moon
    Haha. Nice idea...
  3. anuraj1
    Offline

    anuraj1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    That...is...AWESOME! What a rad feature. I didn't have much luck with CM6-RC1 (SetCPU didn't remember root permissions) but maybe the final release will fix that. This feature is sweet.
  4. basedboii
    Offline

    basedboii New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this is really smart lol
  5. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    where are the settings for changing those settings?
  6. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Settings | Location & Security

    I have almost all of the display options turned off.
  7. ravichopra
    Offline

    ravichopra New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you just roll back to SU 2.1 everything works fine. Give it a try. You're missing out on a fantastic ROM...
  8. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was going to suggest that, too - but when I tried it, it didn't work. I'm running Superuser Permissions 2.1, SetCPU 2.0.1. My settings do not apply on boot, it always comes up with a max of 600, min of 250, and the only way to make the settings take is to manually move the slider.
  9. anuraj1
    Offline

    anuraj1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    I read about that fix. I downloaded the RC as soon as it was posted (i was on irc in koush's channel when it happened) and I spent a few hours getting everything set up perfectly, trying different kernels, etc. before getting frustrated with the setcpu issue and rolling back to BB.4. I figure I'll just wait until the official release this time. Seems like we are probably getting close. I definitely did like it when I had it though, except for the SU situation.
  10. iSpyder
    Offline

    iSpyder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now i know the secret when i find a MOTODROID with CM6 on it. Lol. But thanks for the info. I might flash CM on mine now just because of this. :D
  11. anuraj1
    Offline

    anuraj1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    I read that you have to go back to superuser 2.0.3 to fix it.
  12. loggainsd
    Offline

    loggainsd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Very nice. I just did the same thing. It's great for anti-theft. Especially since i really do have GPS tracking with MobileDefense.
  13. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used to use "Contact Owner" to accomplish that with a weird hack of alarms on the lockscreen, but this is much more elegant.

    Yeah, I signed up for both MobileDefense and WaveSecure when they came out. I currently use WaveSecure.

    Even knowing the secret doesn't help much, since you still need to get the correct pattern. And since it doesn't show your path as you try it, it's a lot harder to guess.
  14. loggainsd
    Offline

    loggainsd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i agree. i checked out the screenshot for contact owner and this does look a lot cleaner. (plus it's one less app). I have tried wavesecure and lookout too but they just seemed to have connection issues when I tried to locate so i wound up staying with mobiledefense. I also have it installed as a system app so It's harder to remove.

    Here's a link for that. Installing Mobile Defense as a system application [OFFICIAL] (Page 1) - Tutorials - Mobile Defense
    I did the install from sd card method from rom manager. when i tried the adb method it was flaky like the other two apps.
  15. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I was pretty stoked when they added that feature. The force-GPS-even-when-GPS-is-disabled is a pretty awesome feature. WaveSecure does the system-app now, too, with the GPS and prevent-uninstall thing as well.

    Here's the update.zip method for WS, couldn't be simpler. I keep it on my SD card so I can reinstall whenever I get a new ROM. They made it so you don't need a text message confirmation just for a reinstall, which is nice and saves me $0.40 each time or whatever 2 txts cost now.

    www.wavesecure.com/installations/update.zip
  16. joker402
    Offline

    joker402 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I take it this only works for dot pattern lock?
  17. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Correct. Making somebody enter a password on an invisible keyboard would just be evil.
  18. joker402
    Offline

    joker402 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    one can dream lol i wish it did give the message about gps atleast
  19. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh, the custom message works for all lock types - it was just the invisible dots that only worked for the pattern lock.
  20. Rated_R
    Offline

    Rated_R New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do you hide the carrier?
Search tags for this page
android invisible dot pattern
,

awesome screen lock patterns

,
break android pattern lock
,
break the pattern lock application
,
how to break a pattern code
,

how to break a pattern lock

,

how to break a pattern lock on a phone

,
how to break an pattern on a phone
,

how to break pattern lock on android

,

how to break pattern lock on android phones