1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Charm? Has it always been there?

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by dzone67, Jun 2, 2012.

  1. dzone67
    Offline

    dzone67 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fontana
    So I recently opened the settings and noticed the "Charm" option. I know what it is but I was never aware of it being there. Am I going crazy?
  2. dzone67
    Offline

    dzone67 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fontana
    ForumRunner_20120601_220728.png
  3. Taco
    Offline

    Taco New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    It appeared out of nowhere on mine as well.

    Sent From A Taco Bell Drive-Thru.
  4. HowardZ
    Offline

    HowardZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Well, looks like I have no charm

    stock GB, rooted, s-off.
  5. mysticalmalissa
    Offline

    mysticalmalissa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Top of the Rock, TN (Sequatchie)
    No charm for me. What does it do?
  6. sp3ar2envi
    Offline

    sp3ar2envi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have it! How did it appear on yours?

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
  7. Snoking
    Offline

    Snoking New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. Snoking
    Offline

    Snoking New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
  9. dzone67
    Offline

    dzone67 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fontana
    If I'm correct, it's an accessory in which you plug into your phone and gives a light show when you get a notification. I'm just wondering how it got there! I have no clue!
  10. HowardZ
    Offline

    HowardZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    If you are suddenly finding apps or things installed on your phone which you did not install it might be caused by free apps which use "air push". This is far pushier than AdMob in that it can actually install software on your phone without your permission.

    There is a free ap called "AirPush Detector" which will tell you if you have any apps with AirPush built into it.
    Then one can uninstall those aps if one wishes to.

    One can also go to their AirPush website and opt out by typing in special numbers found under the battery in your phone.

    Personally, I think it best to uninstall any aps using AirPush and maybe the app developers will get the idea that their app will become far less popular and they'll earn less money by using AirPush.


    Howard
  11. dzone67
    Offline

    dzone67 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fontana
    I think you're wrong. THINK. I know what you're talking about but I don't think they have the ability to add a new setting under the settings of the phone... I can't think of any other way to phrase it ha.
    1 person likes this.
  12. mysticalmalissa
    Offline

    mysticalmalissa New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Top of the Rock, TN (Sequatchie)
    All I know is, this thread has caused me to go spend money on ebay buying new charms for my phone. LOL :p
  13. HowardZ
    Offline

    HowardZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    According to the airpush website, one of the things they sell advertisers is automatically placing ICONs on the desktop without the user's knowledge or consent.

    I am not sure what these ICONs point to - newly installed applications? web pages?

    Yes, I might be wrong, but people with new ICON's in the settings should run the airpush-detector because it is free to do this and it might be the cause of this mysterious "Charm".

    Perhaps run an anti-virus and anti-spamware scan too?

    ICONs should not be mysteriously showing up.

    Howard
  14. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Then just use paid apps. Developers need to make money somehow, even with free apps, and AirPush is a very developer friendly thing. They can make money with absolutely NO cost to them. And AirPush CANNOT install apps. It can:

    a) display push ads in the notification area
    b) display ads within apps, or
    c) place a shortcut to a web/play store link on the desktop

    Most developers use a or c, sometimes a combination. I would MUCH rather have these types of ads as opposed to on-screen ads while an app is running.

    I love the way people EXPECT free apps, but also aren't willing to deal with tradeoffs to get these free apps.

    If you still can't understand why Airpush is attractive to developers, read the following:

    Airpush - Developers
  15. HowardZ
    Offline

    HowardZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Dave,

    I buy apps, and I use free apps.

    I write apps, some I sell, some are free with small AdMob ads on the bottom of the screen.

    AirPush will ruin the entire Android Market -
    It will drive people to Apple where such things are never permitted.
    Google needs to eradicate it.
    But this is not the topic nor purpose of this thread.

    A Charm shortcut has shown up in the settings menu of some users - and it is probably the sign of malicious code.

    There does exist a real app called "Charm", but the Op did not install it.
  16. mountainbikermark
    Online

    mountainbikermark Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    369
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Correct on the notification charm.
    The menu on my daughters Ryme, which came with a charm as a selling feature,looks exactly like yours.
    My stock, non rooted Rezound doesn't have the charm option in the menu.
    I have an app called airpushpermanentoptout, free on the market, which blocks air push so if air push did it that would explain why I don't have the menu setting.

    Support Our Troops!!!
    <><
    A Rezound phone was used for this Tapatalk post
  17. samiusmc
    Offline

    samiusmc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No charm for me.
  18. andeejo
    Offline

    andeejo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    West Jordan, UT
    The rezound has the option to use the charm from the htc rhyme. It is the only other phone other than the rhyme that is compatible with it. I plugged one into my rezound at a Verizon store to check it out and that charm option in settings showed up. I have since gone through a factory reset so it is no longer there.
  19. dzone67
    Offline

    dzone67 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fontana
    Makes sense. Yet, how the [Insert a very creative word here] did I get it?!
  20. donnelly326
    Offline

    donnelly326 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Sounds like its triggered in the headset jack so if you use a wired headset there may have been a miss-connection that tricked the phone into thinking you were using a charm thus the option appeared in settings
Search tags for this page
android phone settings charm
,

charm for htc rezound

,
charm for rezound
,
charm htc rezound
,
charm on htc rezound
,
charms/htc
,

htc charm rezound

,

htc rezound charm

,
htc rezound charm settings
,
htc rezound charms
,
htc rezound phone charm
,
htc rezound phone charms
,

rezound charm

,
what is charm on htc rezound
,

what is the charm on htc rezound