1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Can't send text to one particular number?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by pattib, Nov 20, 2009.

  1. pattib
    Offline

    pattib New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm unable to send a text message to one specific person from my Droid. The error message isn't terribly hepful-- it's just a generic unable-to-send sort of thing. This happened last night when I was desperately trying to reach him and had to resort to old-fashioned talking (the horrors!), and it's still happening this morning.

    The friend is a US T-Mobile customer. I'm able to send to another T-Mobile customer with no problems, and the friend can send me text messages. I can also send to him via Google Voice, so at least I have a workaround.

    Has anyone else encountered this before? I'll call Verizon about it at some point, but I have a hard time imagining that I'll get a good answer from them.
  2. Loribelle
    Offline

    Loribelle New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having the same problem, but I don't get any type of message. It just won't send. I noticed, also, that when I start to type the person's name or phone number, it doesn't find it in my contacts...even though it IS in my contacts. Am I doing something stupid?:)
  3. pattib
    Offline

    pattib New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know. The person I'm sending to is in my contacts and is accessible normally via them.
  4. bigpiper223
    Offline

    bigpiper223 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i had the same thing going on with my phone as well. It wouldnt recognize the area code for my wifes number which is on the same plan as i have so i went to the store and they gave me a new phone and i dont have any issues with that anymore. just other issues now.
  5. jns.das
    Offline

    jns.das New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys, try altering your contacts from this format:
    (555) 555-5555

    To this:
    1-555-555-5555

    Let me know if that fixes the problem. I discovered a major flaw in this OS that neither verizon nor motorola could help with... SMS messages and txt msgs stopped suddenly due to this formatting and I found that if you re-enter the numbers without the dashes eg. 15555555555 the goog puts the dashes in automatically for you... Hope it helps...
    Jay
  6. bigpiper223
    Offline

    bigpiper223 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    after i got my new phone from verizon i didnt have that problem anymore. just different ones now. so its not the entering format its something else.
  7. Lafond
    Offline

    Lafond New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine pops up an error saying to enter the area code. Her contact info was synced from my facebook account with the xxx-xxx-xxxx layout that works fine for everyone else. She has T-Mobile also and is the only one I've tried to text that has that provider. Maybe that is part of the problem?
  8. FoFa
    Offline

    FoFa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    i have not had that problem, but i did have one issue with a contact sync'd from gmail, and I found an embedded space after the email address that was causing issues (not sure why, but that seemed to be it) one of those you can't see it so nothing looks wrong things.
    Not saying that is your issue, just thought it worth a mention on the possibility is all.
  9. Lafond
    Offline

    Lafond New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I'm not sure about the OP, but enev when I had my contact list cleared and entered the 10 digit number the old school way it popped up with the same error.
  10. pattib
    Offline

    pattib New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This seems to have been fixed in the 2.01 update I received yesterday. One of the first things I did was send a text message to the formerly-problematic person, and it came through just fine.
  11. Xith
    Offline

    Xith New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I believe an old version of the OS used to place a 1 in front of the numbers, along with the dashes and such. I removed the number 1 from the problem number, and all my texts are finally going thru!
Search tags for this page
cant send text to one number
,
my iphone wont send texts to one person
,

my phone wont let me text a certain number

,

my phone wont let me text one person

,
my phone wont send a text to one person
,

my phone wont send messages to one person

,

my phone wont send text messages to one person

,

my phone wont send texts to one person

,
my phone wont text one person
,
phone wont let me text one person
,

phone wont send text to one person

,

phone wont send texts to one person

,

texts wont send to one person

,
unable to text one person
,

why wont my phone send texts to one person