1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Can't root my D2?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by droid doctor, Jan 22, 2012.

  1. droid doctor
    Offline

    droid doctor New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Every time I try to root my d2 with the one click root for d3 because of gingerbread it reboots in to bootloader. I've tried rooting over and over but it always goes to bootloader when it tries to reboot. But before this I had MIUI on my phone(this was in the summer) then I sbfd so I could install GB when it came out. After it did I rooted it with the one click root for d3 which was a success. So I left it stock rom for awhile then I was interested on miui for gb. Everytime I tried to install that rom or any other it would say error installation aborted, even if I had the right download. So then I sbfd and now I'm on stock gb and I want to root again but as I said it only reboots into bootloader and does nothing else.
  2. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,932
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Which version of the root tool are you trying to use?
  3. droid doctor
    Offline

    droid doctor New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried to use the 1.06 and the 1.07 and they didn't work.
  4. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,932
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Honestly I don't think I have come across this one before. I was going to suggest 1.07 since it always worked for my D2 but you already tried that. Aside from trying to SBF again and then root I am not sure what else to try.
  5. lizard
    Offline

    lizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    I couldn't get anything to work at home on my 32 bit pc and used a friends laptop at work which was 64 bit and it worked with the 64 bit version of v7. Petes Motorola Root Tools.
  6. Barchetta
    Offline

    Barchetta New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    lakewood
    Just rooted my R2D2 (same thing as D2) and I was running into the same situation. Here is what you do :
    Use 1 click and when it reboots into boot loader, leave the program running and unplug usb from the phone. Press and hold power, release, then power up. As soon as you see the red M, plug in. It will go to step 2,and reboot into bootloader again, repeat the same step as above and it will go to step 3, repeat again and Voila! You are rooted! At least that's what worked for me :) good luck

    Sent from my DROID R2D2 using
    DroidForums
  7. droid doctor
    Offline

    droid doctor New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The first time I did it it was on my moms laptop with windows 7 and the other attempts are all windows xp. Would that matter?
  8. droid doctor
    Offline

    droid doctor New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds good. Have you tried to flash any roms ?
  9. Barchetta
    Offline

    Barchetta New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    lakewood
    What matters is that you have current motorola drivers. if you are running 64bit, go here Motorola 64 bit drivers If 32bit go here Motorola 32bit drivers Disclaimer: I'm just a nooB, this is what worked for me:)
  10. Barchetta
    Offline

    Barchetta New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    lakewood
    Haven't flashed any ROMs yet. I will, I'm just doing a lot of reading first before I figure which to use, that, and making sure I have all my ducks in a row before I commit to flashing, like backups, etc
  11. droid doctor
    Offline

    droid doctor New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd like to hear when you flash a rom.
Search tags for this page
diablo2 c3po v7.04
,
how to root my d2
,
pete motorola root tools download
,

petes motorola root tools 1.07