Browser Homepage Tip

Discussion in 'Android Forum' started by baniels, Feb 10, 2010.

  1. baniels

    baniels Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    52556
    Ratings:
    +0
    This may not be for everyone, but I thought I'd share this.

    If you're like me, you like to close all your browser windows when not browsing. Closing the last window automatically creates a new window with your homepage.

    It has to load, then you have to hit back to exit.

    Waiting for the page to load before closing annoys me so I borrowed a technique that works in Firefox.

    If you set your homepage as "about:blank" (without quotes), there will be no loading necessary. When you open the browser, there will also be no load time. I used to have google as my homepage, which is moot, really, since searching google can be done from the url/search bar at the top of the browser.

    Location can then be allowed for google, without the need for gps to come on everytime you open the browser, as it would if google was your homepage.
     
  2. mvezz

    mvezz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! I thought I was the only one annoyed by that. =)
     
  3. BostonBill

    BostonBill Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    "If you set your homepage as "about:blank" (without quotes), there will be no loading necessary"
    Nice!
    ...but how do you set your home page? I open browser, press menu and don't see set home page as an option.
    Thanks
     
  4. INSANENEIVIESIS

    INSANENEIVIESIS Active Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    cool thanks
     
  5. mvezz

    mvezz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    When pressing menu go to More | Settings and it's in there.
     
  6. BostonBill

    BostonBill Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! All sorts of good stuff there.
     
  7. MK17

    MK17 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sweet tip baniels, thanks!
     
  8. BagMan

    BagMan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Very nice. After years of "smartphones", time to start treating these like the desktop/notebook.
     
  9. myriad46

    myriad46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had location searching get stuck and run my battery down due to google being my homepage. Great Workaround!!!!!!
     
  10. HK-47

    HK-47 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Suffolk, VA
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks baniels - every day with tips like these these "superphones" get better and better!
     
  11. J*Bishop

    J*Bishop Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    nice! thanks for the tip!
     
  12. baniels

    baniels Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    52556
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's pretty much what got me thinking about this. If I didn't let the google page fully load and find my location before exiting, it would get stuck with the gps on.

     
  13. cisco0910

    cisco0910 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    We just have to be smarter then our smartphones sometimes. :)
     
  14. atico

    atico New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks this is great!!!!
     
Search tags for this page
android browser go to home page
,
android browser open to homepage
,
close android browser and get blank
,

droid browser home page

,
droid nexus internet goes to wrong homepage
,
how to go to home page on droid razr browser
,
how to make android browser open start page
,
how to make firefox browsermy home page on a droid razr m
,
make android browser open homepage