Broken earpiece or speaker

rza49311

Reaction score
I'm not sure how it may have happened but it appears my earpiece is broken. When people are talking, the earpiece speaker sounds so garbled/rattled its almost impossible to hear what they are saying. I have tried a reboot and a battery pull obviously. I doubt there's any fix here other than a replacement. I just wanted to let people know that mine has gone south. The speakerphone speaker is still works fine though.

colorfulbliss

Reaction score
I'm in the same boat. This has now happened to my OG Droid and my Bionic. In my case I'm pretty sure it's due to metallic dust getting into the earpiece(I am a car mechanic). Here's my theory: metallic dust enters the speaker, and when enough of it collects on the membrane, the magnet and the dust pull together and prevent the voice coil from moving freely. In the early stages you get a scratchy sound and it progresses to decreased volume to the point you can no longer hear the other caller. The interesting thing is that I had numerous cell phones in the past that lived through the same environment. Occasionally the sound would get scratchy, but I would just blow out the speaker and all was fine. This doesn't seem to work on moto's Droids. In fact it seems to make it worse.

I'm using a bluetooth earpiece until I decide whether to return phone or to fix it myself. I'm one of the lucky ones that has had nothing more than very minor issues with my Bionic and I'm very uneasy about swapping it for a refurb. Here's a look at what the part looks like if you are interested: Verizon Droid Bionic Speaker Flex Cable with Front Camera Module and Earpiece Speaker, Android Motorola XT875 Earpiece Speaker and Front Camera Imager Assembly with Flexible Ribbon CellularDR.com'd be interested to know if you came into contact with a dusty environment to see if I'm on the right track with my theory!

marinegundoctor

Reaction score