Bionic rooted wireless tether ad-hoc problem

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by ryanapfel, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. ryanapfel

    ryanapfel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I rooted my phone tonite. Got the wireless tether to work, it shows the the phone signal on my laptop. But it shows it as a ad-hoc signal (looks like 3 computer screens connected to each other in a triangle) problem is I can't connect to it using my laptop. And the signal doesn't even show up on my tablet. What can I do to fix this. Thanks!

    Sent from my SCH-I905 using DroidForums
     
  2. z96Cobra

    z96Cobra Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Which version of Wifi Tether ate you using? Did you change -Device Profile- to Bionic?
     
  3. ryanapfel

    ryanapfel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I accually tried multipul apps. The last one I used was the only one to let me choose my exact phone. I picked bionic but when I tried to start the wifi I got some errors in the log. I ended up giving up on the wireless teher idea and tried another way to open up the stock Verizon hotspot app for free. That worked. Btw. If anyone is interested in that just let me know and I'll post the website I found the instructions on.
     
  4. ryanapfel

    ryanapfel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. reminon

    reminon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    From the way people have talked is that wifi tether would be harder for Verizon to see than their app ran with provisioning off


    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  6. ryanapfel

    ryanapfel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats probly true. But since I can't get it working any other way I had to do that. If anyone has an alternative I'd love to hear about it

    Sent from my SCH-I905 using DroidForums
     
  7. reminon

    reminon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    http://code.google.com/p/android-wifi-tether/downloads/list. The latest should work ..does for me anyway. I believe the older versions were having problems tethering with encryption disabled. Just set device profile to bionic, and device setup to hostapd.
    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
    #7 reminon, Dec 28, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2011
  8. ryanapfel

    ryanapfel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow. Lol of corse it works now. I tried 20 different apps to get it to work and nothing. U send me one link and its done. Lol thank you. I'll have to save that page.

    Sent from my SCH-I905 using DroidForums
     
  9. reminon

    reminon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol no prob, I tried like 20 myself before they fixed the errors in it. For the longest the bionic had no free wifi tethering, and usb sucks cause 4g kills the battery faster than it can charge.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  10. djmatt8787

    djmatt8787 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea, i had to go DL the beta10 because the hotspot stopped working... i wonder why though, it was working like a week ago when i used BionicPathSaver to root (again) and now no SSL tethering because i cant get my android tablet to acquire an IP address... i just rooted my dad's bionic this morning, and his hotspot works fine :-(
     
  11. djmatt8787

    djmatt8787 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh yeah!!!! i got bored and thought i try to break my phone, so i ran the update.zip for version 893 and it FIXED my hotspot problem without master resetting my phone and loosing my settings!!! click http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...ade-path-retaining-root-901-installation.html and download the bionicpathsaver (if you dont already have it) and just copy update893.zip to your SD card, then boot into recovery, and run the zip from SD. YAY :icon_ lala: YAY dancedroid YAY
     
    #11 djmatt8787, Jan 9, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2012
  12. madboss

    madboss New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    best thrid party free wifi tether app?

    So quick question then for Free Tethering, I have been using Mobile hotspot for the free tether, but don't really trust that, Can anyone recommend a better third party app for Free Wifi Tethering?
     
Search tags for this page
ad hoc problem root thether
,
droid bionic ad hoc error
,

droid bionic ad-hoc

,
droid bionic can't see windows 7 ad hoc
,
droid bionic cant connect to ad hoc
,
droid bionic wireless tether root
,
problems connecting ad hoc droid razr
,
trouble conecting toshiba satellite c8550 to droid razr hots
,
where is ad hoc on droid bionic
,
wireless thether on phone has trouble starting ad hoc