1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Bionic + 4G + Slingbox ??

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by rjsurfer, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. rjsurfer
    Offline

    rjsurfer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    The Slingbox App works great on my D1 and I'm considering the upgrade to the Bionic since my contract is up and I do have 4G in my area. My concern is will the Slingbox App work OK on the Bionic via 4g?

    One more question, will I have to purchase another Slingbox App @ $29 ? or can I transfer it to my new Bionic?

    Thanks

    Ron W.
  2. Speeding Wheels
    Offline

    Speeding Wheels New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit - in da burbs!
    I dont have experience with Slingbox but if you bought it via the Android market it should be associated with your account, not the phone. And I see no reason whatsoever you wouldnt be happy with the performance on the Bionic.
  3. GatorDroid
    Offline

    GatorDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I went from a D1, to a D2, to a DX to a DX2 and after that one took a swim, got the Bionic 4 days ago, even though I planned on waiting for some other 4g phones...best decision in my Droid purchases x10. The phone blows the DX2 out of the water (literally). Not only does slingbox stream on 4g with ease, but is perfect with 3g as well. In Fact, I can stream HD off my cable box component in HQ Quality on Slingbox with Bionic...this was never possible with DX2...kept breaking up, so the difference between apps on 3g between the DX2 and Bionic are night and day...tested 4 different streaming apps and got the same result on all 4. Even started using the ZumoCast which is factory installed and it streams movies with no buffer issues from my Mac Mini at my home over 3g.
    As I stated, I've had 5 Droids and this is the ONLY one which operates at the speed one would want with absolutely NO force closes on any apps in 4 days.
    I simply re=downloaded the app from market on Bionic and worked fine...initially, I transferred the apk from DX to DX2 during the time slingbox wasn't available on market and that worked as well, and that apk was emailed to me from a friend...no I'm not rooted on any of the phones.
  4. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,327
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa

    Ditto!!!!
  5. rjsurfer
    Offline

    rjsurfer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    OP here...

    Thanks for the great news, the Slingbox app not working on the Bionic I would have questioned my decision to go with the Bionic.

    Good to know the app is on the Market now, I think when I first got it, it wasn't.

    Ron W.
  6. blickley
    Offline

    blickley New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Streamed about 5 hours straight last weekend over a very week 4G signal from my Slingbox with not even a hickup.
  7. Nyteravyn
    Offline

    Nyteravyn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MidWest
    I've had my slingbox hd and catcher for over a year now. Guess its finally time to open it up and set it in motion, lol!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  8. Bionic
    Offline

    Bionic New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1. Works great on the Bionic. As for downloading the app, as long as you sign in to the Market using the same google account you used to buy the SP app, you will not be charged again. I have it on three different Droids at the moment. Not sure if that violates the licensing terms, but since you can only stream to one device at a time anyway, I don't see an issue with it.
  9. Crazed_Z06
    Offline

    Crazed_Z06 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    Slingplayer mobile on HQ mode over 4G LTE is the bees knees.
  10. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,327
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    I use the solo, and it works perfect, just curious if your using the solo or pro?
  11. Crazed_Z06
    Offline

    Crazed_Z06 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    I have the Pro HD now.

    I had a solo before (it broke :( ) and that worked great when I had a Droid X.
  12. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,327
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ok was just curious if there is that much difference in quality over the pro and solo. Thanks!
  13. Crazed_Z06
    Offline

    Crazed_Z06 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    Oh I doubt there's any difference at all.

    You should have a "HQ" mode in your slingplayer mobile app if you press the settings button. It makes the picture noticeably better.. and with 4G LTE, there's way more than enough bandwidth to handle it.
  14. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,327
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ok thanks, appreciate the reply! :)
  15. holjes
    Offline

    holjes New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington Dc
    Ok, question, i was always wondering and can't tell the difference. The Sq/Hq button, is it IN Hq mode when the button says Hq or when it says Sq, not really sure which is currently being displayed by sling and which is listing on the button to be switched to. Sorry if that was confusing. Hopefully someone understands what i mean haha
  16. nalgon
    Offline

    nalgon New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would reset the slingbox and reinstall everything if ur connection freezes alot. I went from a 3g to a 4g and it was freezing alot and losing connection.

    Sent from my SCH-I510 using DroidForums
  17. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,327
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    It is in whatever is displayed in the button, if it says HQ its HQ, clicking it will switch it back to SQ.
  18. holjes
    Offline

    holjes New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington Dc
    Thanks Shadez, was always curious.
  19. jst4fun
    Offline

    jst4fun New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PCB, Florida
    I noticed over the weekend when I was using Slingbox in the HDMI mirror on the big screen, I was also plugged into the AC adapter on the wall but it still drug my battery down in just the 1st half of a ballgame. Has anyone else noticed while using the HDMI that the phone did not stay charged?
  20. jleeusa
    Offline

    jleeusa New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Carlsbad, Ca
    Got to assume that's a lot of drain going on. Are you using the supplied charger or an older one? I originally plugged into my og Droid charger, noticed a huge difference in charging time after unwrapping the supplied charger.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
can i use 4g to get slingbox
,
how well does sling box work on samsung s3
,
slinbox for roku work on 4g
,

slingbox 4g

,
slingbox fot droid bionic