Another rooting question...

Chawpz

Reaction score
I have been reading up on rooting my X. I have yet to find a solid answer on losing root with an OTA update. I want to root 2.1 and explore, but I want to go back to stock when 2.2 comes out to learn it. I'm new to the whole android thing and most of the posts i have read seem like opinions that it will go back to stock when 2.2 is pushed out. Opinions are cool and all, but just want to know for sure before i try rooting. Sorry if this has been answered before, but i haven't found an answer as of yet. Thanks in advance!

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

MotoCache1

Chief Droid Scientist
Reaction score
There's a signed SBF out for the DroidX, right? So why wouldn't we believe that would work? Pretty sure folks are using it - they just aren't talking about it a lot because Momma Moto got her panties in a wad about people having the file and started passing out pink slips to the principal's office.

dangerous

Reaction score
I have been reading up on rooting my X. I have yet to find a solid answer on losing root with an OTA update. I want to root 2.1 and explore, but I want to go back to stock when 2.2 comes out to learn it. I'm new to the whole android thing and most of the posts i have read seem like opinions that it will go back to stock when 2.2 is pushed out. Opinions are cool and all, but just want to know for sure before i try rooting. Sorry if this has been answered before, but i haven't found an answer as of yet. Thanks in advance!

Just unroot when the 2.2 comes out. there is a program that makes it real easy to un root.

(i think it was called "root me" or something like that.)
GUI DroidX Root Program - Windows Only - Droid X Rooting - AllDroid Public Board - GUI DroidX Root Program - Windows Only - Droid X Rooting - AllDroid Public Board - AllDroid.org > Home

MotoCache1

Chief Droid Scientist
Reaction score

Just unroot when the 2.2 comes out. there is a program that makes it real easy to un root.